CFDA Fashion Awards nominees announced: Depp will be first male to receive 'icon' status

US actor Johnny Depp

View photo

US actor Johnny Depp

The nominees and honorees for the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards were announced March 14, with Johnny Depp to become the first male recipient of The Fashion Icon Award.

Organized by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA), the prestigious annual ceremony's 2012 edition will be presented by Seth Meyers of Saturday Night Live and take place Monday, June 4 in New York.

Designer and CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg announced the nominees and honorees, with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to go to Tommy Hilfiger. Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Marc Jacobs are nominated for the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award.

Meanwhile Hollywood actor Depp will receive the Fashion Icon Award due to his "personal and eclectic sense of style." Last year the prize went to pop star Lady Gaga.

Here is the full list of CFDA Award nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Billy Reid
Patrik Ervell
Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind
Joseph Altuzarra
Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

Antonio Azzuolo
Phillip Lim
Todd Snyder

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

Irene Neuwirth
Pamela Love
Tabitha Simmons

Honory award recipients:

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Tommy Hilfiger
Media Award, Scott Schuman & Garance Doré
Fashion Icon Award, Johnny Depp
Founders Award, Andrew Rosen
International Award, Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons


View Comments (2)