Philip Seymour Hoffman Death: The Stars React

Access Hollywood
Philip Seymour Hoffman -- Getty Images
.

View photo

Philip Seymour Hoffman -- Getty Images

Philip Seymour Hoffman, 46, was found dead in his Manhattan apartment on Sunday.

Many stars took to Twitter to express their sadness over the sudden passing of the Oscar-winning actor, who was found with a needle still in his arm at the time of his death.

Here's what they had to say:

PSH - I am genuinely shocked, saddened and speechless. A truly wonderful man, with a magical touch. My hero. Thoughts are with his family.

-- Sam Claflin (@samclaflin) February 2, 2014

Beautiful beautiful man. We have lost so much joy to something so joyless. RIP PSH.

-- Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) February 2, 2014

Blu day, Philip Seymour Hoffman od'd. Addiction comes fr trying to escape th pain of living. We all struggle with this but Drugs never help.

-- Val Kilmer (@ValEKilmer) February 2, 2014

We lost one of the greats today. Philip Seymour Hoffman RIP my friend. You will be missed always and forever.

-- Aaron Paul (@aaronpaul_8) February 2, 2014

Shocked to hear of Phillip Seymour Hoffman's death. If you missed him as Willy Loman, you missed a Willy Loman for all time.

-- Steve Martin (@SteveMartinToGo) February 2, 2014

heartbroken and shocked. what a true loss. rest in peace, Philip Seymour Hoffman

-- Elijah Wood (@woodelijah) February 2, 2014

Such shocking, sad news - Philip Seymour Hoffman was a huge inspiration to me. He will be greatly missed. My heart goes out to his family.

-- Sean Hayes (@theseanhayes) February 2, 2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman worked & lived with truth above all. I will desperately miss his talent. pic.twitter.com/gL5rFnK17U

-- Sean Astin (@SeanAstin) February 2, 2014

This is an awful day. Rest In Peace Philip Seymour Hoffman

-- Eric Stonestreet (@ericstonestreet) February 2, 2014

My heart goes out to Philip Seymour Hoffman, his family and friends. Such a sad end to such a talented man. I'm thankful for his art. RIP

-- Gabourey Sidibe (@GabbySidibe) February 2, 2014

I am so heartbroken over the loss of Philip Seymour Hoffman. He will be missed.

-- Betsy Brandt (@betsy_brandt) February 2, 2014

I see that it's not a hoax PSH is dead😪condolences to his family... .Damn

-- Whoopi Goldberg (@WhoopiGoldberg) February 2, 2014

"Sometimes I absolutely hate this job." -- The Grim Reaper, when Philip Seymour Hoffman's name showed up on his list.

-- Patton Oswalt (@pattonoswalt) February 2, 2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman gone so young. Such a tragic loss. Such a creative force. What an actor... Rest in peace.

-- Tony Goldwyn (@tonygoldwyn) February 2, 2014

Tragic day. Thoughts and prayers with loved ones of the incomparable #PhilipSeymourHoffman

-- Taylor Schilling (@TaySchilling) February 2, 2014

Wow. Philip Seymour Hoffman, My heart hurts to lose him. SUCH a talented man. Truly, One of a kind. He will be so very missed. RIP

-- Vanessa Hudgens (@VanessaHudgens) February 2, 2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman dead at 46 of drug overdose. Wow...Brilliant actor. God Bless his family.

-- Wayne Brady (@waynebrady) February 2, 2014

Simply rotten news about Philip Seymour Hoffman. Stunning actor, and by all accounts a wonderful man. Thoughts are with his loved ones.

-- Jamie Dornan (@JamieDornan1) February 2, 2014

My heart is broken, my mind is racing. My idol has died and I am so confused and sad by this tragic loss. RIP #philipseymourhoffman

-- Josh Gad (@joshgad) February 2, 2014

Copyright 2014 by NBC Universal, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

View Comments (4)