Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Monday, Oct 28


Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Monday:

- - - -


- - - -


La Liga

In-form Getafe seeking fifth win in succesion

MADRID - Surprise packages Getafe can tighten their grip on fifth place in La Liga and close within a point of fourth-placed Villarreal by beating visiting Athletic Bilbao who are sixth. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

Leaders Barca can move four points clear with win at Celta

MADRID - With second-placed Atletico Madrid not playing at Granada until Thursday, unbeaten champions Barcelona can open a four-point lead at the top with a win at Celta Vigo on Tuesday. Third-placed Real Madrid, five points behind Atletico, host Sevilla on Wednesday. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -


McIlroy beats Woods in China showdown

Rory McIlroy claimed a one-shot win over world number one Tiger Woods at 'The Match at Mission Hills' in Haikou, China. (GOLF-MATCH/, moved, 400 words)

- -


ATP: Paris Masters (to Nov 3)

Copy on merit

- - - -


Lester faces Wainwright in World Series rematch

ST. LOUIS - Crucial Game Five of the best-of-seven World Series will feature a rematch of Game One pitchers as Boston's Jon Lester, an 8-1 winner in the opener, goes against the St. Louis Cardinals' Adam Wainwright. (BASEBALL-WORLDSERIES/ (PIX), expect first copy by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 600 words)

- - - -


Seahawks try to keep NFC West lead

The visiting Seattle Seahawks, idle since Oct. 17, go for their 15th victory over the St. Louis Rams in 17 meetings as they try to stay ahead of the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC West. (NFL-RAMS/ (PIX), expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, 400 words)

- - -


Post positions to be announced for 30th Breeders' Cup

LOS ANGELES - The post-position draw will be announced for all 14 races at this week's Breeders' Cup, being staged for a seventh time at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. Game On Dude, unbeaten this year and a winner of six straight races, is the likely favourite for Saturday's showpiece $5 million Classic. (HORSERACING-BREEDERS/DRAW, expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 300 words)

- - -


Wild go for another win over Blackhawks

The Minnesota Wild go for their second win over the Chicago Blackhawks in three days when they host the Stanley Cup champions in a Central Division showdown in one of five games on the National Hockey League schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Duty editor: Ed Osmond)

View Comments (0)