Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday, March 29

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1500 unless stated)

Manchester United v Aston Villa (1245)

Crystal Palace v Chelsea

Southampton v Newcastle United

Stoke City v Hull City

Swansea City v Norwich City

West Bromwich Albion v Cardiff City

Arsenal v Manchester City (1730)

Chelsea need win at Palace, Manchester City visit Arsenal

LONDON - Premier League leaders Chelsea visit struggling Crystal Palace needing a win to stay clear of third-placed Manchester City who are three points behind with two games in hand ahead of a tricky visit to a fading Arsenal side. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 1445 GMT/10:45 AM ET, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Espanyol v Barcelona (1500)

Celta Vigo v Sevilla (1700)

Athletic Club v Atletico Madrid (1900)

Real Madrid v Rayo Vallecano (2100)

Top three in action as Real aim to avoid third straight loss

MADRID - La Liga leaders Atletico Madrid face a tough trip to Athletic Bilbao, who are fourth, second-placed Barcelona visit city rivals Espanyol and Real Madrid, in third, seek to avoid a third straight defeat when they welcome neighbours Rayo Vallecano. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Serie A

Bologna v Atalanta Bergamo (1700)

AC Milan v Chievo Verona (1945)

Seedorf's improving Milan travel to lowly Chievo

ROME - Mid-table AC Milan host lowly Chievo Verona in Serie A with the underperforming seven-times European champions and their inexperienced coach Clarence Seedorf buoyed by a draw with Lazio and victory over Fiorentina. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM ET, by Terry Daley, 500 words)

- -

Ligue 1 (1900 unless stated)

Ajaccio v Toulouse

Evian Thonon Gaillard FC v Monaco

Montpellier HSC v Valenciennes

Nantes v Girondins Bordeaux

Stade de Reims v FC Lorient

Sochaux v Olympique Marseille

Monaco hoping to cement Champions League spot

PARIS - Second-placed Monaco, 13 points adrift of Ligue 1 leaders Paris St Germain but nine clear of Lille in third, visit lowly Evian Thonon Gaillard looking to strengthen their grip on the second automatic Champions League qualifying spot. (SOCCER-FRANCE/, (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 250 words)

- -

Bundesliga (1430 unless stated)

Bayer Leverkusen v Eintracht Braunschweig

Bayern Munich v Hoffenheim

Mainz v FC Augsburg

VfB Stuttgart v Borussia Dortmund

VfL Wolfsburg v Eintracht Frankfurt

Freiburg v Nuremberg (1730)

Champions Bayern aim to stretch winning league run to 20

BERLIN - Bayern Munich, who clinched the title on Tuesday, look to extend their 19-game winning Bundesliga run at home to Hoffenheim while Borussia Dortmund visit Stuttgart with a one-point lead over third-placed Schalke. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect from 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 500 words)

- -

Dutch Championship

Vitesse Arnhem v Heerenveen (1745)

NEC Nijmegen v Heracles Almelo (1845)

PSV Eindhoven v Groningen (1945)

PSV bid to close within three points of leaders Ajax

AMSTERDAM - PSV Eindhoven can move within three points of Dutch league leaders Ajax Amsterdam with a home win over mid-table Groningen, although they will have played two games more, while fourth-placed Vitesse Arnhem, a point behind PSV, aim to keep pace with a win over visiting Heerenveen. (SOCCER-DUTCH/ (PIX), expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Formula One: Malaysian Grand Prix, Kuala Lumpur (to 30)

Slick Hamilton clinches pole position

SEPANG, Malaysia - Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton made it two poles in two races after emerging unscathed from an incident-packed and rain-hit Malaysian Grand Prix qualifying. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), moved, by Patrick Johnston, 600 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

World Twenty20

England v South Africa, Chittagong

South Africa and England primed for showdown

England and South Africa lock horns in Group One with the losers facing likely elimination from the tournament while New Zealand bid for their second victory when they face Netherlands who lost their opening two games. (CRICKET-WORLD/T20, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Amlan Chakraborty, 500 words)

- - - -

HORSE RACING

Dubai World Cup

Ruler Of The World favourite to win in Dubai

DUBAI - Four-year-old colt Ruler Of The World is favourite to win the $10 million Dubai World Cup, the world's richest horse race, despite returning from a five-month layoff. (HORSE RACING/DUBAI (PIX), race starts at 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Martin Dokoupil, 500 words)

- -

Kentucky hopefuls line up in Florida and Louisiana derbies

Some of the leading contenders for this year's Kentucky Derby will be in action in the $1 million Florida Derby and the $1 million Louisiana Derby, two of the warm-up races on the road to Churchill Downs. (HORSE RACING-KENTUCKY/, expect by 0015 GMT/8:15 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

Sony Open (to March 30)

Williams and Li battle for Miami title

MIAMI - Number one Serena Williams goes for her seventh Miami title against China's Li Na in an enthralling Sony Open final featuring the world's two top-ranked players. (TENNIS-MIAMI/, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Texas Open, San Antonio (to 30)

Australian Bowditch leads in Texas

Australian Steven Bowditch takes a one-stroke lead into the third round as he seeks his first PGA Tour victory while Phil Mickelson starts the day 11 strokes off the pace after narrowly making the cut at the TPC San Antonio. (GOLF-PGA/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

RUGBY

U.S. and Uruguay battle for World Cup berth

United States and Uruguay lock horns in the second leg of their World Cup playoff in Atlanta with everything still in the balance after the teams drew the first match in Montevideo. The winner will automatically advance to the 2015 World Cup in England while the losers enter the repechage. (RUGBY-WORLD/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 250 words)

- -

Super rugby round seven

Bulls v Chiefs, Pretoria (1300)

Sharks v Waratahs, Durban (1505)

We will provide a brief match report on both matches. (RUGBY-SUPER/, 250 words)

- - - -

NBA

Sixers try to avoid record-breaking defeat

The Philadelphia 76ers, beaten in 26 consecutive games, try to avoid setting the NBA all-time losing streak when they play the visiting Detroit Pistons in one of six games on the NBA schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

NHL

Kings bid for sixth consecutive victory

The Los Angeles Kings continue their quest for a playoff spot as they go for their sixth consecutive win when the Winnipeg Jets visit in one of 11 games on the schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 950 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Criterium International (to 30)

Tour of Catalunya, Spain (to 30)

Copy on merit

- - - - (London duty editor: Tony Jimenez)

View Comments (0)