12 Republicans voted against honoring the Capitol Police and others that defended the Capitol during the riot

·2 min read
marjorie taylor greene
Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia at a news conference on Capitol Hill on February 5. Susan Walsh/AP
  • The House voted Wednesday to honor law enforcement that responded to the January 6 Capitol riot.

  • The vote passed 413-12. All 12 lawmakers who voted against the legislation were Republicans.

  • They said they disagreed with the legislation characterizing the Capitol siege as an insurrection.

  • See more stories on Insider's business page.

The House passed a bill Wednesday to honor police officers who defended the Capitol during the January 6 riot. The vote passed 413-12.

The bipartisan legislation would authorize the creation of three Congressional Gold Medals - one for the Capitol Police, one for the Metropolitan Police Department of Washington, DC, and one meant for display by the Smithsonian to acknowledge other agencies that helped defend the Capitol from pro-Trump rioters who stormed the building.

Last month, the Senate voted to award Officer Eugene Goodman of the Capitol Police with the Congressional Gold Medal for his actions diverting a crowd of rioters away from the Senate chamber. The House bill mentions Goodman by name as well as Officer Brian Sicknick, who died from injuries sustained during the siege, and two officers who died by suicide after the insurrection.

Some Republicans took issue with the legislation's language, particularly that it referred to the Capitol attackers as "insurrectionists." All of the 12 nay votes to the legislation came from Republican lawmakers.

Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida described the bill as "offensive" because of what he described as "editorial comments about the Jan. 6 sequence of events." Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky said he disagreed with categorizing the riot as an insurrection, expressing concern that the label could be used by prosecutors.

Here are the 12 Republicans who voted against the legislation:

Rep. Louie Gohmert of Texas

louie gohmert
Gohmert. Tom Williams/CQ-Roll Call, Inc via Getty Images

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia

Marjorie Taylor Greene
Greene. AP Photo/Susan Walsh

Rep. Andy Biggs of Arizona

andy biggs
Biggs. Patrick Semansky/Pool via REUTERS

Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky

thomas massie

Rep. Andy Harris of Maryland

rep. andy harris
Harris. Tom Williams/CQ-Roll Call, Inc via Getty Images

Rep. Lance Gooden of Texas

lance gooden
Gooden. House Television via AP

Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida

Matt Gaetz
Gaetz. Getty

Rep. Michael Cloud of Texas

michael cloud
Cloud. Andrew Harnik/AP

Rep. Andrew Clyde of Georgia

andrew clyde andy harris andy biggs
Clyde. Tom Williams/CQ-Roll Call, Inc via Getty Images

Rep. Bob Good of Virginia

Bob Good
Congressman-elect Bob Good (R-Virginia). John McDonnell/The Washington Post via Getty Images

Rep. Greg Steube of Florida

greg steube
Steube. Graeme Jennings/Pool via REUTERS

Rep. John Rose of Tennessee

john rose
Rose. Joshua Roberts/Reuters

Read the original article on Business Insider

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting