These 164 California State Parks Have Reopened To Visitors

Nick Garber

CALIFORNIA — Nature lovers, rejoice: Californians looking to escape the tumultuous news cycle can now find refuge in any of the 164 state parks that have reopened to the public, often including parking lots.

In April, Gov. Gavin Newsom temporarily closed all beaches and state parks to curb the spread of the coronavirus. Now, as the state reopens, dozens of the state's 280 parks are welcoming back visitors, but with new limitations.

The state encourages people to visit the webpage of the park they plan to visit before heading out, since many have limited parking and other new guidelines in place.

As of Tuesday, the following state parks, beaches, historic parks, recreation areas, and natural reserves are open:

Amador County: Indian Grinding Rock SHP
Butte County: Bidwell Sacramento River SP, Clay Pit SVRA, Lake Oroville SRA
Calaveras County: Calaveras Big Trees SP
Colusa County: Colusa Scramento River SRA
Contra Costa County: Franks Tract SRA, Mount Diablo SP
Del Norte County: Del Norte Coast Redwoods SP, Jedediah Smith Redwoods SP, Pelican SB, Tolowa Dunes SP
El Dorado County: D.L. Bliss SP, Ed Z'berg Sugar Pine Point SP, Emerald Bay SP, Folsom Lake SRA, Lake Valley SRA, Marshall Gold Discover SHP, Plumas Eureka SP, Washoe Meadows SP
Fresno County: Millerton Lake SRA
Humboldt County: Azalea SNR, Benbow SRA, Fort Humboldt SHP, Grizzly Creek Redwoods SP, Harry A. Merlo SRA, Humboldt Lagoons SP, Humboldt Redwoods SP, John B. Dwitt Redwoods, Little River SB, Patrick's Point SP, Prairie Creek Redwoods SP, Richardson Grove SP, Trinidad SB
Kern County: Eastern Kern County Onyx Ranch SVRA, Fort Tejon SNR, Red Rock Canyon SP, Saddleback Butte SP, Tule Elk SNR
Lake County: Anderson Marsh SHP, Clear Lake SP
Los Angeles County: Antelope Valley California Poppy SNR, Hungry Valley SVRA, Leo Carrillo SP, Los Angeles SHP, Malibu Creek SP, Robert H. Meyer SB, Topanga SP, Will Rogers SB
Madera County: Wassama Round House SHP
Marin County: Angel Island SP, China Camp SP, Mount Tamalpais SP, Olompali SHP, Samuel P. Taylor SP, Tomales Bay SP
Mendocino County: Admiral Williams Standely SRA, Caspar Headlands SR, Caspar SB, Greenwood SB, Hendy Woods SP, Jughandle SB, MacKerricher SP, Mailliard Redwoods SR, Manchester SP, Mendocino Headlands SP, Mendocino Woodlands SP, Montgomery Woods SNR, Navarro River Redwoods SP, Point Cabrillo SHP, Reynolds WC, Russian Gulch SP, Schooner Gulch SB, Sinkyone Wilderness SP, Smithe Redwoods SNR, Standish-Hickey SRA, Van Damme SP, Westport Union Landing SB
Merced County: Caswell SRA, George J. Hatfield SRA, Great Valley Grasslands SP, McConnell SRA, San Luis Reservoir SRA
Mono County: Bodie SHP, Mono Lake Tufa SNR
Monterey County: Andrew Molera SP, Asilomar SB, Carmel River SB, Fort Ord Dunes SP, Fremont Peak SP, Garrapata SP, Limekiln SP, Marina SB, Monterey SB, Moss Landing SB, Salinas River SB
Nevada County:, Donner Memorial SP, Empire Mine SHP, Malakoff Diggins SHP, South Yuba River SP
Orange County: Bolsa Chica SB, Crystal Cove SP, Doheny SB, Huntington SB, San Clemente SB
Placer County: Auburn SRA, Kings Beach SRA
Riverside County: California Citrus SHP, Lake Perris SRA, Mount San Jacinto SP
Sacramento County: Brannan Island SRA, Folsom Powerhouse SHP, Prairie City SVRA
San Benito County: Hollister Hills SVRA
San Bernardino County: Chino Hills SP, Providence Mountains SRA, Silverwood Lake SRA, Wildwood Canyon
San Diego County: Anza-Borrego Desert SP, Cuyamaca Rancho SP, Old Town San Diego SHP, Palomar Mountain SP
San Joaquin County: Carnegie SVRA
San Mateo County: Ano Nuevo SP, Bean Hollow SB, Burleigh Murray Ranch SP, Half Moon Bay SB, Montara SB, Pescadero SB, San Gregorio SB
Santa Barbara County: Carpinteria SB, El Capitan SB, Gaviota SB, La Purisima SHP, Refugio SB
Santa Clara County: Henry W Coe SP, Pacheco SP
Santa Cruz County: Big Basin Redwoods SP, Castle Rock SP, Henry Cowell Redwoods SP, The Forest of Nisene Marks SP, Wilder Ranch SP
San Luis Obispo County: Los Osos Oaks SNR, Morro Bay SP
Shasta County: Ahjumawi Lava Springs SP, McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial SP
Solano County: Benicia SRA
Sonoma County: Armstrong Redwoods SNR, Austin Creek SRA, Fort Ross SHP, Jack London SHP, Kruse Rhondendron SRA, Salt Point ST, Sonoma Coast SP, Sonoma SHP, Sugarloaf Ridge SP, Trione-Annadel SP
Stanislaus County: Turlock Lake SRA
Tuolomne County: Columbia SHP, Railtown 1897 SHP
Tulare County: Colonel Allensworth SHP
Ventura County: Emma Wood SB, Point Mugu SP, San Buenaventura SB

Full coronavirus coverage: Coronavirus In California: What To Know

This article originally appeared on the Across California Patch