Here are the 2023 Lexington All-City baseball teams and player of the year

·3 min read
Silas Walker/

The Lexington Herald-Leader and are proud to present the 2023 All-City Baseball Team and player of the year as voted on by the nine high school coaches of Lexington’s varsity KHSAA programs.

The Lexington player of the year honor goes to Lexington Catholic’s Owen Jenkins, a sophomore catcher already committed to the University of Louisville who led the 11th Region champion Knights in hitting (.493 average), RBI (53), home runs (six) and was second in runs scored (52).

Coincidentally, Abby Hammond, another LexCath sophomore, earned this year’s All-City softball player of the year honor.

Jenkins received six player of the year selections by the city’s coaches with fellow first-teamers Addison Stockham of Sayre, Matthew Persinger of Tates Creek and Scott Kendrick of Paul Laurence Dunbar each receiving one top player vote.

Rounding out the first team were Henry Clay’s Giancarlo Gonzalez, Lexington Catholic’s Griffin Cameron, Frederick Douglass’s Reece Harbison, Sayre’s Charlie Slabaugh, Dunbar’s Harrison Simpson and Tates Creek’s Carson Van Haaren

Lexington’s nine varsity baseball coaches were asked to nominate players for all-city consideration. Later, the coaches ranked, one through 10, their top players from that list of nominees. They were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Selections were made regardless of position and each team was limited to a maximum of five all-city honorees. Point values were assigned to each voting position (10 points for first-place votes, nine points for second-place votes, etc.) and the accumulation of those points was used to create the First and Second Teams each composed of 10 players.


Player, position(s), school, voting points (first-place votes)

Owen Jenkins, C, Lexington Catholic, 73 points (6)

Addison Stockham, 1B/LHP, Sayre, 65 (1)

Matthew Persinger, C/1B, Tates Creek, 48 (1)

Scott Kendrick, OF/INF, Paul Laurence Dunbar, 40 (1)

Giancarlo Gonzalez, LHP, Henry Clay, 34

Griffin Cameron, OF, Lexington Catholic, 31

Reece Harbison, SS, Frederick Douglass, 31

Charlie Slabaugh, OF/LHP, Sayre, 29

Harrison Simpson, OF, Paul Laurence Dunbar, 23

Carson Van Haaren, RHP, Tates Creek, 19


Thomas Howard, 1B/3B/RHP, Frederick Douglass

Andrew Dixon, LHP/OF, Lexington Christian

Trenton Cutwright, CF/RHP, Bryan Station

Burkley Bounds, 3B, Lafayette

Harry Tibe, OF, Lexington Catholic

Jordan Carter, SS/CF/RHP, Bryan Station

Graham Johnson, C, Sayre

Jared Eisiminger, RHP, Paul Laurence Dunbar

Brady Binder, OF/RHP, Lafayette

Chardy Tierney, RHP, Henry Clay


Bryan Station: Sam Wilkerson, 3B/RHP; Kyze Monroe, RHP.

Frederick Douglass: Jaylen Edmonds, OF; Brady Robeson, INF; Braxton Burse, P.

Henry Clay: Kasen Parks, SS; Kai Aoki, OF; Isaac Rone, 3B/RHP.

Lafayette: Tre Wilson, OF; Cam Napier, MIF; Rantz Payton, P/CF.

Lexington Catholic: Zach Grigalis, 1B; Drew Bowles, RHP.

Lexington Christian: Kyle Livengood, 1B; Woods Frye, 3B/RHP; Blake Campbell, CF/RHP; Sean Stafford, 2B.

Paul Laurence Dunbar: Tyler Gadd, 1B/DH; Cam Ringler, RHP.

Sayre: Owen Murphy, RHP; Raymond Saatman, OF/RHP.

Tates Creek: Cooper Jackson, 2B; Chase Moore, SS; Jamison Craig, OF/RHP.