3 Vikes named to All-State teams

·1 min read

Jul. 8—Barr-Reeve had three players named to the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association Class A All-State team. Freshman Seth Wagler was named as an outfielder to the first team, while Nick Swartzentruber and Colton Stoll were named Honorable Mention.

"I was so proud to have three kids make the team. They were all deserving and each one did different things for us this year," said B-R head coach Trevor McConnell.

"I think that it means so much because they are voted on by other coaches and that is an acknowledgement of what they did this year. It means a lot to the kids who come back next year and know that they have All-State teammates."

Wagler drove in 25 runs and scored 27 while hitting .400 as a freshman. Swartzentruber hit .398 and had a .480 OBA and drove in 23 runs, while Stoll hit .393 and scored 29 runs. All three helped B-R to a 22-7 record and a spot in the regional finals.


P: Peyton Merica, Rising Sun; Ben Mazur, Lafayette Central Catholic; C: Nick Miller, Fremont; 1B: Chase Smith, Cowan; 2B: Brady Yeryar, Shakamak; 3B: Owen Winters, Kouts; SS: Ethan Bock, Fremont; OF: Gavin Gentry, Borden; Korbin Lawson, Tri-County; Seth Wagler, Barr-Reeve.

Honorable mention: Oscar Pegg, Shakamak; Mo Lloyd, Southwood; Nick Swartzenruber, Barr-Reeve; Derron Hazzard, Riverton Parke; Owen Munn, Lafayette Central Catholic; Gabe Kahl, Elkhart Christian; AJ Agnew, Borden; Peyton Robbins, Riverton Parke; Dylan Kindig, Argos; Brennen Martin, Dugger (Union); Elijah Quasebarth, North White; Colton Stoll, Barr-Reeve; Hunter Collings, Riverton Parke; Dylan Toler, Borden; Joey Spin, Caston; Gabe Pentecost, Fremont; Bradley Ferrell, South Central (Union Mills); Carter Crews, Springs Valley