These 5 Countries Have Recently Eased Their COVID-19 Travel Restrictions

COVID-19 is slowly starting to feel like a thing of the past. Travel is picking up again and countries are dropping their travel restrictions for American travelers. Costa Rica, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Jamaica, and The United Kingdom have all lifted their restrictions.

Fortunately, more countries are joining in on easing their COVID-19 entry restrictions for Americans. Here are five countries that have recently eased their COVID-19 travel restrictions.

Related: Italy Drops All COVID-19 Restrictions Just In Time For Summer

Getty Images
Getty Images

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina is a great destination for travelers who love nature and backpacking. Visitors to this country will no longer need to get tested, quarantine, show proof of vaccination, or complete passenger locator forms. 

The requirement to wear mandatory face masks while indoors has also been lifted. 

It seems as though Bosnia and Herzegovina has gone back to normal, or as normal as possible. 


Kazakhstan ended its COVID-19 entry requirements on June 10. Travelers will no longer need to get tested, quarantine, show proof of vaccination, or complete passenger locator forms.

Wearing masks in indoor places is also no longer mandatory.

South Korea

Since the start of the pandemic, South Korea has had very strict COVID-19 rules. In the past week, those requirements have been eased. 

Short-term travel visas are available to foreign visitors for the first time since the pandemic. International travelers are able to enter South Korea on group or individual tours with the C-3 visa. In the past two years, travelers were only able to obtain a C-3 visa if they were a diplomat, preparing treaties, or traveling for government affairs.

Unvaccinated travelers will no longer have to quarantine for seven days upon arrival. A negative COVID-19 test will still be required before entry. Both vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers will have to show a negative PCR result within 72 hours of arrival.

“While there was a seven-day quarantine obligation for non-vaccinated foreign arrivals until now, such requirement will be eliminated from June 8 regardless of their vaccination status,” says Prime Minister Han Duck-soo.

Travelers will have to wear face covers on public transportation. Fines of $70 will be issued by the police if face masks are not worn.


This North African country has eased its COVID-19 travel restrictions. Unvaccinated travelers will still need to show a negative PCR test taken within 48 hours of arrival. However, they will not have to self-quarantine upon arrival. 

Fully vaccinated travelers will not have to be tested. Face masks are still required in indoor spaces as well as temperature checks and sanitizing. 

Travelers will have to show proof of vaccination to enter most public spaces. 


As of June 8, travelers to Uzbekistan will no longer need to get tested, quarantine, show proof of vaccination, or complete passenger locator forms. 

Face masks are no longer mandated.

Travelers will have to quarantine if they test positive for COVID-19. If the mandatory quarantine is not adhered to, travelers could be fined up to $1,000 or face ten years in prison. 

Related: Should You Cancel Your Flight This Summer? Here’s What The Experts Have To Say