Here are the 6 GOP senators who voted to support the January 6 commission

·1 min read
Capitol Riot Trump Signs
Trump supporters clashed with police and security forces at the US Capitol on January 6. Brent Stirton/Getty Images
  • Six Republican senators joined Democrats to support the creation of a January 6 commission.

  • Sens. Cassidy, Collins, Murkowski, Portman, Romney, and Sasse voted to advance the bill.

  • Republican opposition blocked the investigation into the Capitol riot.

  • See more stories on Insider's business page.

Six Republican senators joined Democrats to support a bipartisan commission to delve into the January 6 Capitol riot.

The bill, which would have established a panel to investigate the insurrection, failed to pass a procedural vote after Republicans blocked the bill.

The final vote was 54-35, short of the 60 votes needed to move past a Republican filibuster stopping the bill's progress. Ten Republican senators needed to join their Democratic colleagues for the bill to move forward.

These are the Republicans who voted to move forward with the commission:

  • Bill Cassidy, Louisiana

  • Susan Collins, Maine

  • Lisa Murkowski, Alaska

  • Rob Portman, Ohio

  • Mitt Romney, Utah

  • Ben Sasse, Nebraska

Another nine GOP senators didn't vote:

  • Marsha Blackburn, Tennessee

  • Roy Blunt, Missouri

  • Mike Braun, Indiana

  • Richard Burr, North Carolina

  • Jim Inhofe, Oklahoma

  • James Risch, Idaho

  • Mike Rounds, South Dakota

  • Richard Shelby, Alabama

  • Pat Toomey, Pennsylvania

Read the original article on Business Insider