Can you actually get a ticket for going 1 mph over the speed limit?

(COLORADO) — Contrary to popular belief, you can actually get a ticket for going one mile over the posted speed limit.

While the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) said it is impossible for troopers to pull over every single speeder, the “9 you’re fine, 10 you’re mine” saying is actually false.

PREVIOUS COVRAGE: “How fast can I go over the speed limit before I get pulled over?” CSP responds

“While it would be impossible for troopers to pull over every single motorist violating the speed limit, drivers can and do receive tickets for going between 1- 9 miles over,” said Col. Matthew C. Packard, Chief of CSP. “When speed hurts a passenger, pedestrian, animal or other motorist, can you really say it was acceptable?”

According to 2023 fatal and injury data for crashes investigated by State Troopers, speeding was the top cause. Troopers were called to investigate over 2,830 fatal and injury crashes last year, with approximately 23% caused by speeding.

Under Colorado law, a violation of driving 1 to 24 mph over the posted speed limit is a Class A traffic infraction. If a driver is pulled over for going 1 to 4 mph over the reasonable or maximum lawful speed, the fine is $30 plus a $6 surcharge. For someone caught going 5 to 9 mph over the limit, a $70 fine plus a $10 surcharge is handed out. The fine for a driver traveling 10 to 19 mph over the maximum limit in Colorado is $135 with a $16 surcharge.

“Whatever reason you may have to speed doesn’t justify breaking a law set in place to keep the community safe,” said Packard. “These speeds are set after considering factors such as road design, visibility and potential hazards. Following the speed limit reduces the likelihood of crashes.”

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to FOX21 News Colorado.