Aiken County early voting for June 28 runoff elections to begin Wednesday

·1 min read

Jun. 21—Aiken County residents can take the next step in helping select the state's next superintendent of education and its next U.S. Senator Wednesday morning.

Early voting for the June 28 primary runoffs will begin at 8:30 a.m. Wednesday and end at 5 p.m. Friday. Two races will be on ballots in Aiken County: the Republican superintendent runoff between Kathy Maness and Ellen Weaver and the Democratic senate runoff between Catherine Bruce and S.C. Rep. Krystle Matthews, D-Berkeley.

In Aiken County, early voting is available to all registered voters at the Ronnie Young Aiken County Government Center located at 1930 University Pkwy.

South Carolina voters can cast ballots in runoff elections if they voted in that party's primary or if the voter didn't cast a ballot in the primary election. For instance, a voter can't vote in the Democratic primary and then vote in the Republican runoffs.

The winner of the Republican superintendent runoff will face Democrat Lisa Ellis and a third party candidate in the Nov. 8 general election. Incumbent Republican Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman announced last year that she wasn't going to seek another term. She's since endorsed Maness.

The winner of the Democratic senate runoff will face Republican incumbent Tim Scott in the Nov. 8 general election.