Area Wrestling Roundup: Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa racks up another quality win

Tom Elliott, West Central Tribune, Willmar, Minn.
·6 min read

Mar. 1—BELGRADE — In a precursor to the Section 5A/6A state prelims, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa earned a top-five win over Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie.

The Jaguars, ranked second in Class A, defeated B-H/V/PP 37-30 Saturday at BBE High School.

B-H/V/PP is rated fifth in Class A.

The two teams were 1-1 in ranked matchups. At 120 pounds, BBE's Ryan Jensen (fourth) pinned Deagen Captain (sixth) at 3 minutes, 29 seconds. Then at 195, B-H/V/PP's Gideon Ervasti (fifth) pinned Mark Jenniges (ninth) at 1:05.

Wyatt Engen (126), Tyler Jensen (138) and Blaine Fischer (145) all won by fall for the Jaguars. Maximus Hanson added a major decision at 152.

BBE 37,

BH/V/PP 30

106: Brett DeRoo, BBE, dec Bennet Arceneau, 8-5

113: David Revering, B-H, dec Tanner Viessman, 8-2

120: Ryan Jensen, BBE, pinned Deagen Captain, 3:29

126: Wyatt Engen, BBE, pinned Aiden Larson, 1:16

132: Walker Bents, BBE, dec Reese Thompson, 5-3

138: Tyler Jensen, BBE, pinned Blake Sumstad, 1:21

145: Blaine Fischer, BBE, pinned Abby Ervasti, 0:27

152: Maximus Hanson, BBE, maj dec Brock Peterson, 16-6

160: Mason Schroeder, B-H, pinned Dylan Kampsen, 1:47

170: Hunter Dean, B-H, pinned Wyatt Lewis, 2:49

182: Cooper Wold, BBE, dec Tyler Eggert, 4-3

195: Gideon Ervasti, B-H, pinned Mark Jenniges, 1:05

220: James Grant, B-H, dec Ethan Spanier, 9-6

285: Hayden Captain, B-H, pinned Bryce Feuerhake, 2:56

Benson Triangular


Benson 34

Winning the first six matches for a 36-0 lead, Morris Area/Hancock/Chokio-Alberta defeated host Benson on Saturday.

Tyce Anderson (106 pounds), Andrew Marty (113), Dallas Walton (120), Ethan Lebrija (126), Breighton Logan (132), Davin Rose (138), Toby Messner (182) and Carter Gibson (285) all won by fall for the Tigers.

For the Braves, Adam Koosman (152), Adam Zosel (160), Nathan Bolduc (170) and Alden Syltie (220) picked up six points with pins.

106: Tyce Anderson, M, pinned Hae Wah, 3:31

113: Andrew Marty, M, pinned Ed Wah, 3:35

120: Dallas Walton, M, pinned Mu tah Wah, 1:02

126: Ethan Lebrija, M, pinned Colby Hogrefe, 1:10

132: Breighton Logan, M, pinned Macoy Kurkosky, 1:59

138: Davin Rose, M, pinned Preston Mcgee, 0:57

145: Nick Bolduc, B, won by forfeit

152: Adam Koosman, B, pinned Dain Schroeder, 1:31

160: Adam Zosel, B, pinned Hunter Messner, 3:20

170: Nathan Bolduc, B, pinned Asher Malek, 1:11

182: Toby Messner, M, pinned Teegan Hogrefe, 1:43

195: Thomas Dineen, B, maj dec Hunter GIbson, 13-2

220: Alden Syltie, B, pinned Brock Marty, 0:25

285: Carter Gibson, M, pinned Jack Storlien, 1:19

Canby 39,


Scoring bonus points in five out of its eight wins, Canby managed to defeat Morris Area/Hancock/Chokio-Alberta Saturday in Benson.

Davin Rose (138 pounds) had the lone fall for the Tigers.

106: Eli Greenman, C, pinned Tyce Anderson, 1:57

113: Andrew Marty, M, maj dec Brodyrck Gravdal, 12-0

120: Lane Fink, C, dec Dallas Walton, 3-0

126: Ethan Lebrija, M, maj dec Lincoln Fink, 18-5

132: Nick Wagner, C, pinned Breighton Logan, 0:46

138: Davin Rose, M, pinned Sawyer Drietz, 1:06

145: Easton Antony, C, won by forfeit

152: Tanner Drietz, C, dec Dain Schroeder, 13-6

160: Hunter Massner, M, won by forfeit

170: Sawyer Verhelst, C, dec Asher Malek, 7-6

182: Parker Verhelst, C, pinned Toby Messner, 2:52

195: Hunter Gibson, M, dec Josh Steffen, 12-6

220: Brock Marty, M, maj dec Gavin Noyes, 10-1

285: Shane Noyes, C, pinned Carter Gibson, 0:23

Osakis Triangular

NLS 56,

Osakis 6

New London-Spicer was 2-0 at the Osakis triangular on Saturday, including a win over the host Silverstreaks.

Luke Knudsen (113 pounds) and Reid Holmquist (160) each won by major decision for the Wildcats, who also benefited from seven wins by forfeit.

106: Isaiah Nelson, NLS, won by forfeit

113: Luke Knudsen, NLS, maj dec Logan Grove, 19-7

120: Ty Bisek, NLS, won by forfeit

126: Luke Ruter, NLS, won by forfeit

132: Gaven Cimbura, O, dec Everett Halvorson, 9-5

138: Brody Lien, NLS, dec Carsten Jacobson, 7-4

145: Kale Drevlow, O, dec Brody Duke, 8-7

152: Adam Sandau, NLS, dec Tyson Hagedon, 6-2

160: Reid Holmquist, NLS, maj dec Kaleb Helberg, 10-2

170: Grant Hubbard, NLS, won by forfeit

182: Sam Gabrielson, NLS, won by forfeit

195: Double forfeit

220: Jon Garcia, NLS, won by forfeit

285: Nick McKenzie, NLS, won by forfeit

NLS 60,

Wadena-DC 9

With eight wins by forfeit, New London-Spicer knocked off Wadena-Deer Creek Saturday in Osakis.

On the mat, Everett Halvorson (132 pounds) and Adam Sandau (152) each won by decision for the Wildcats.

106: Isaiah Nelson, NLS, won by forfeit

113: Luke Knudsen, NLS, won by forfeit

120: Ty Bisek, NLS, won by forfeit

126: Luke Ruter, NLS, won by forfeit

132: Everett Halvorson, NLS, dec Eli Benning, 7-0

138: Brody Lien, NLS, won by forfeit

145: Brandon Wheeler, W-DC, dec Carson McCain, 5-3

152: Adam Sandau, NLS, dec Seth Stroeing, 9-4

160: Reid Holmquist, NLS, won by forfeit

170: Koby Endres, W-DC, pinned Grant Hubbard, 5:03

182: Sam Gabrielson, NLS, won by forfeit

195: Double forfeit

220: Jon Garcia, NLS, won by forfeit

285: Nick McKenzie, NLS, won by forfeit

TMB/WWG Triangular


United 30

With three straight wins from 182-to-220 pounds, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove got the cushion it needed to beat Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley/Montevideo United Saturday in Tracy.

Dain Mortenson (152), Trevon Johnson (170) and Trey Teichert (285) all won by fall for United.

106: Kameron Sather, U, dec Linkoln Carlson, 5-0

113: Devin Carter, T, dec Daniel Gunlogson, 6-1

120: Ethan Moravetz, U, dec Jeret Ankrum, 4-0

126: Alexander Schuh, T, pinned Zander Clausen, 5:14

132: Ayden Horner, T, tech fall Tyler Schickedanz, 16-1 (2:57)

138: Landen Knoshal, U, dec Jayden Torgeson, 8-4

145: Kadin Huntley, U, dec Jacob Meyer, 7-3

152: Dain Mortenson, U, pinned Noah Ortiz, 1:26

160: Gabe Krick, T, pinned Avery Wittnebel, 5:36

170: Trevon Johnson, U, pinned Michael Timm, 0:45

182: Caden Johnson, T, pinned Holt Larson, 1:55

195: Eathan Martinez, T, dec Landon Olson, 9-7

220: Travis Willhite, T, dec Parker Bothun, 8-2

285: Trey Teichert, U, pinned Nic Willhite, 3:03

United 52,

Adrian 22

Team United earned pins from Daniel Gunlogson (113) and Avery Wittnebel (160) to beat Adrian in Tracy.

Kadin Huntley won by a 6-2 decision at 145 for United, beating Reese Morrison. And, United's Kameron Sather earned an 11-2 major decision over Moe Erdman at 106.

106: Kameron Sather, U, maj dec Moe Erdman, 11-2

113: Daniel Gunlogson, U, pinned Jesse Bullerman, 0:51

120: Ethan Moravetz, U, won by forfeit

126: Tyler Schickedanz, U, won by forfeit

132: Zander Clausen, U, won by forfeit

138: Landen Knoshal, U, dec Breyer Hieronimus, 6-4

145: Kadin Huntley, U, dec Reese Morrison, 6-2

152: Dain Mortenson, U, won by forfeit

160: Avery Wittnebel, U, pinned Reese Morrison, 2:12

170: Quentin Wolf, A, inj def Trevon Johnson

182: Preston Nelson, A, maj dec Holt Larson, 11-3

195: Jaren Winselman, A, pinned Landon Olson, 3:23

220: Roberto Hernandez, A, pinned Parker Bothun, 5:37

285: Trey Teichert, U, won by forfeit