Australian Fashion Foundation names hot new talent in annual awards ceremony

Australian Fashion Foundation 2016 winners Deanna Fanning and Hannah Tan

The Australian Fashion Foundation (AUSFF) has revealed the winners of its 2016/2017 annual internship program.

Womenswear designer Deanna Fanning and menswear designer Hannah Tan took home the top prize, receiving a financial grant and internship opportunities worth more than AU$20,000 (approximately US$14,500). Fanning is making a name for herself with intricate and colorful knitwear pieces, while Tan's deconstructivist approach to clothing blends Japanese silhouettes with Western tailoring. 

The up-and-coming duo will be able to complete their internships in the US or Europe, stopping in Hong Kong on the way to meet with industry experts at textile brand The Woolmark Company's new Wool Resource Centre to learn about the industry and the key manufacturers, spinners and weavers in China.

AUSFF co-founder Malcolm Carfrae commended Fanning and Tan's "strong, original point of view" and "inspiring and exciting" collections. Carfrae sat on the judging panel for the competition, alongside fashion stylist and icon Brana Wolf, fashion designer Dion Lee, Editor-in-Chief of Harper's Bazaar Kellie Hush, Editor-In-Chief of InStyle US Laura Brown, fashion consultant and former Vogue editor Nancy Pilcher, and Consultant Kara Hurry.

The AUSFF was founded in 2009, with the aim of promoting young Australian talent and offering training and networking opportunities. The annual awards, held in partnership with The Woolmark Company, are open to designers, photographers, stylists, writers, and art directors working in the fashion industry. For more information, see