All Google Profiles to go public as of July 31

Mike Wehner, Tecca
Technology News Blog

Google's new social network push, Google+, is gaining momentum. Though it remains in closed beta, the service is already becoming the favorite social networking spot of many internet denizens. In order to ensure that everyone with an existing Google account is ready for the public launch, the company is requiring all Google Profiles to be public, and anyone with an existing private account will see their information purged as of July 31.

If you use the Gmail web-based email service, YouTube, or any other Google-based internet property, there's a pretty good chance you created a Google Profile at some point in time. These profiles contain things like your real name, gender, and any additional information you may wish to link to your online identity. The push towards making all profiles public is aimed at making Google+ a more social experience and should allow you to locate friends much easier.

If you're not sure what type of Google account you have you can simply sign in and click on "View data stored with this account." From there, you can manage your privacy options and control what contact information is available to the public. If you wish you have your private profile removed, you can also do so via this menu, or simply wait for July 31 when all such profiles will be automatically deleted from the system.

(Source)

More from Tecca: