Bon Homme captures 17 titles at South Dakota Wrestling Coaches Association Region 3 tournament

The Daily Republic, Mitchell, S.D.
·4 min read

Mar. 14—Bon Homme crowned 17 champions at the South Dakota Wrestling Coaches Association Region 3 tournament Saturday at the Corn Palace.

In a tournament that featured more than 450 wrestlers from across the region, in which the top-three finishers advanced to the state tournament, save for Cadets, which sent the top-four. Parkston had 11 champions, while Marion-Freeman had five and Kimball, McCook Central/Montrose, Mount Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney, Wagner and Winner had five apiece.

Bon Homme had four champions in the Midgets division, with Devonne Sesler (77 pounds) and Tucker Tjeerdsma (113) earning pins, while Jamison Myers (123) won by major decision and Colt Wolf (67) won by decision. In the Tots division, Cowan Wolf (46) and Jr Maggs (53) had pins.

Crue Campbell scored a pin to capture the Bantam 65-pound division, while Summyt Larson won the Novice 64-pound class and Caleb Cuka was the Novice 150 champion. Ryvr Larson won the Schoolboy 70-pound division. In the Girls 60-pound class, Ellie Bult won by fall and Johanna Namminga won by fall at girls Pre-K through second grade heavyweight division.

Parkston won four weight classes in the Schoolboy division, with Gage Reichert (95), Wyatt Anderson (115) and Kolter Kramer (160) winning by fall. Kaden Holzbauer won by decision at 125. Parkston also had two champions in Tots, with Jory Heinrich (43) and Teagan Anderson (49) winning by fall in the finals, while Zander Braun (50) and Braxton Wermers (heavyweight) won titles in Bantam.

Sutton Leischner (56) and Radley Konrad (72) were champions in the Midget division, while Riley Neugebauer won the Cadets 100-pound class.

Marion/Freeman had a pair of Novice champions, with Easton Tschetter (82) and Alex Schultz (93) winning by fall. Meanwhile, Michael Blau (82) and Caleb Kirkholm (96) added Midgets titles. Gunnar Tschetter (40) won in Tots and Brody Gossen had a first-minute pin at Schoolboy 80.

Kimball's Vincent Lenz (87) and Carter Konechne (108) won Novice championships, while Huntley Hurban won the 91-pound title in Bantam by fall. Maverick Balsius won the Midgets 89 championship, while Iden Myers was the Cadets 132-pound champion.

MCM's Owen Schmidt (105) and Trystan Traupel (110) won by decision in Schoolboy, while Easton Meyer won the Midgets heavyweight title with a 45-second pin. Parker Randall won the Novice 100 division with a fall and Khloe Sauers won the girls 65-pound title with a 12-second pin.

MVPCS' Asher Helma (50) and Will Hosman (59) won by fall in the first minute in Midgets championship matches, while Max Vanden Hoek earned a pin in the Novice 77-pound class. Kane Hosman won at Tots 57 pounds and Paxton Nedved won the Schoolboy 120 class.

Wagner's Frank Krcil (68) and Steven Peters (127) won Novice titles, while Grayson Knebel (Bantam 70), Hunter Wiechman (Midget 104) and Gannon Knebel (Schoolboy 140) were also champions.

Winner's Bridger Stirling (61) won by fall in Bantams, while Blayden Stirling scored a decision in the finals of the Midget 63-pound class. Roukyn Robbins won by decision at 72 pounds in Novice and Rylan Robbins won by fall in the finals of Schoolboy 85 pounds. Apollo Willuweit won the 60-pound division in Novice.

Four Andes Central/Dakota Christian wrestlers won championships via fall, with three in the first minute. Kruze Kaczor won the Bantam 53-pound class with a 22-second pin, while Ty Garcia pinned teammate Mason Stone in 25 seconds for the Schoolboy heavyweight crown. Christopher Bass won the Novice heavyweight title in 46 seconds and Jensen Hejelm won the Tots heavyweight final in 4 minutes, 5 seconds.

Howard's Deekon Feldhaus won the Tots 37-pound division by decision, while Raycen Feldhaus won the Bantam 44-pound class in a major decision. Eli Callies captured the Bantams 47-pound title and Calvin Halverson won the Schoolboy 150 class by major decision.

Gregory's Odin Reber won the 40-pound Tots class with a fall in 46 seconds, while Elijah Ekroth won the Schoolboy 90 division in a 27-second fall. Slade Webster won Bantam 57 pounds in a 6-0 decision.

Mitchell's Samari Wright won the 117-pound Novice division in a 3-2 decision, while Penn Long won the Schoolboy 130 class in overtime. Chamberlain's Ty Larson won the 76-pound Bantam title and Si Bunker won the Midgets 53-pound championship.

White Lake's Taelyn Clark won the girls 82-pound division with a 35-second fall in the finals and Platte-Geddes' Ella Holter won the girls 45-pound division with a 37-second pin.