Broncos will aim to block Chiefs from matching AFC West title record in 2022

·1 min read

The Kansas City Chiefs have dominated the AFC West in recent years, but historically, KC has been behind in the division.

Before 2016, the Chiefs were far behind the Denver Broncos, Los Angeles Chargers and Las Vegas Raiders, who were all tied with 15 AFC West titles each. At the time, KC had just eight division titles on its resume.

Since then, the Chiefs have won six-straight AFC West titles, now giving them 14 division crowns. If KC wins the ‘West again this year, the Chiefs will be tied with the Broncos, Chargers and Raiders with a 15th division title.

Talk about a competitive division.

Denver (and Los Angeles and Las Vegas) will aim to prevent Kansas City from matching that record. Of course, the Broncos (and Chargers and Raiders) are more concerned about their own playoff seeding than the Chiefs’ quest for history in 2022, but it’s a record fans will be keeping tabs on if nothing else.

Denver and Las Vegas have also won three Super Bowl titles. Kansas City has won twice, but the Chargers are still seeking their first NFL title.

Follow the Broncos Wire Podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Podcasts

Pick One: Who wins the AFC West in 2022-23? - Powered By PickUp


Can the Broncos keep up in the AFC West this season?

Russell Wilson helping Broncos’ defense prepare for mobile QBs in AFC West

Broncos have easiest projected strength of schedule in AFC West

Worst to first? Broncos have AFC West title aspirations

Russell Wilson on joining stacked AFC West: 'I don’t fear anything'