How to cancel your Shopify seller account by pausing or permanently deleting your store

Jennifer Still
·3 min read
Shopify logo on phone
You can cancel your Shopify account to delete it permanently, or pause it temporarily. Omar Marques/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images
  • Sellers can choose to pause or cancel their Shopify stores at any time.

  • Pausing your Shopify store allows you to continue working on it while preventing customers from completing the checkout process.

  • You can cancel your Shopify store by closing it entirely or selling it on the platform's Exchange Marketplace.

  • Visit Business Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories.

As a business owner who sells your products or services on Shopify, there may come a time when you need to pause your account for some time or even remove it altogether.

Pausing allows for the temporary removal of the shop so that you can continue to work on it without allowing customers to purchase from it. Canceling your account removes it from the Shopify platform altogether - unless, of course, you decide to sell your account on the Exchange Marketplace. If this option is available to you, it will appear in your Shopify account's "Plan and permissions" settings.

If you need to take a break from selling for a short time, pausing your Shopify account is likely the best option. This means that customers can continue to access your shop and see what's on sale. They just won't be able to buy anything. During this time, you can add or edit products in your store and reinstate it when you're ready to get started again.

While your store is in "Pause and build" mode, you will be charged a reduced subscription fee of $9 per month. However, should you wish to pause your store and make it inaccessible to all completely, even yourself for editing, you can do so by choosing "Pause" instead of "Pause and build."

Finally, once your store is canceled and closed, it cannot be reopened. In addition, you cannot create a new store with the same name in the future.

Here's how to pause or cancel your Shopify account.

How to pause your Shopify account

1. Log in to your Shopify account as the store's admin.

2. Click the Settings option on the lower left-hand corner of the screen.

3. Select "Plan and permissions."

Cancel Shopify Account 1
The Shopify Settings menu lets you manage shipping and delivery, billing, notifications, and more. Jennifer Still/Business Insider

4. Under the "Store status" section, click "Pause and build."

5. Agree with the terms presented before clicking the "Pause and build" option again.

6. After reviewing your billing cycle changes, click "Confirm changes" to pause your store.

How to cancel your Shopify account

1. Once you've logged into your Shopify account, head to the "Plan and permissions" section of your account through the Settings menu.

2. Under "Store status," click on the "Close your store" option.

Cancel Shopify Account 2
You will need to scroll to find the "Store status" section in your settings. Jennifer Still/Business Insider

3. Enter your password, then click "Close store" again.

4. Shopify will offer you the opportunity to contact the company for further help before closing. If you're confident you wish to proceed, click the "Close store" option from the dropdown menu one final time.

Cancel Shopify Account 3
Closing your store will permanently delete it. Jennifer Still/Business Insider

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Read the original article on Business Insider