Here are the candidates for elections in Okaloosa and Walton counties

·3 min read

The official period for non-judicial candidates to qualify for the 2022 election cycle in Okaloosa and Walton counties ended at noon on Friday.

The primary election is Aug. 23 and the general election is Nov. 8.

Here are the candidates:

Carolyn Ketchel, who is seeking a third term as Okaloosa County’s District 2 commissioner, will compete against candidates CareySue Beasley and Matt Turpin.

General Election Day is Nov. 8.
General Election Day is Nov. 8.

Trey Goodwin faces no opposition in the District 4 County Commission race and will secure a third term in office.

In Okaloosa County School Board races, incumbent Lamar White will face Jerry Buckman for the District 1 seat, incumbent Linda Evanchyk will compete with Darrel Barnhill for the District 3 seat and incumbent Diane Kelley will face Cara Marion for the District 5 seat.

In Destin, voters will be asked to choose a new mayor. The candidates are current City Council members Rodney Braden and Bobby Wagner, who was appointed in November to replace suspended Councilwoman Prebble Ramswell.

Earlier: Prebble Ramswell seeking reinstatement to her council seat; Destin City Council stays silent

Recently: Last-minute candidate swap unfolds in Okaloosa School Board race. Why it's raising questions

Incumbent Jim Bagby will return to the City Council and newcomers Torey Geile and Matthew Sweetser will join the board, as they are the only candidates for three open council seats.

In Crestview, incumbents Joe Blocker and Shannon Hayes and newcomer Thara Manwell Larkins are running for the Precinct 1 City Council seat. Ryan Bullard is the lone candidate for the Precinct 2 seat and incumbent Douglas Capps is the lone candidate for the Precinct 3 seat.

In Walton County, incumbent County Commissioner Danny Glidewell is unopposed for the District 2 seat. David Buchanan, Charles Galloway and Donna Johns are running for the District 4 seat currently held by Trey Nick.

In April: Gubernatorial candidate Nikki Fried making campaign stops in Florida Panhandle

New county admin: Walton reopens search for new county administrator after commissioners reject 12 candidates

In Walton County School Board races, incumbent Bill Eddins Jr. will face newcomer Gordon Michael Porter for the District 3 seat and incumbent Jason Catalano will compete with MH Carr for the District 5 seat.

Incumbent Kim Kirby faces no opposition for the District 2 seat.

Dan Curry and Ryan Messer will compete in the contest to replace Bobby Beasley as the Walton County Supervisor of Elections.

In state races, it appeared Friday afternoon that five of seven candidates who had pre-filed to oppose U.S. Rep. Matt Gaetz in the First Congressional District race had qualified. Gaetz and fellow Republicans Bryan Jones, Mark Lombardo and Greg Merk were listed as having qualified, while Robert Jones and Jeremy Kelly were not.

On the Democratic side of the First District race, Rebekah Jones and Peggy Schiller were listed as qualified.

In Congressional District 2, which now encompasses the eastern half of Walton County, Republican incumbent Neal Dunn will be challenged by Democrat Al Lawson, the congressman presently representing Florida's Fifth Congressional District.

Lawson decided to run against Dunn after Gov. Ron DeSantis redrew the Fifth District to transform it from a minority access district that leaned Democratic to a GOP leaning district.

Two candidates with no party affiliation did not ultimately qualify to run in the District 2 race.

This article originally appeared on Northwest Florida Daily News: Candidate field is set for elections in Okaloosa and Walton counties