Which candidates are on Manatee County’s primary election ballot? Here’s the list

·2 min read

Manatee County voters will head to the polls Aug. 23 to cast their ballots in the primary election.

Depending on where you live, there are a handful of local races to have your say in, but there are also several state and federal elections.

Primary elections give registered party voters an opportunity to select the candidate they prefer to move forward to the general election in November.

Early in-person voting runs from Aug. 13 to Aug. 20 and primary Election Day is Aug. 23.

As of Friday, July 15, vote-by-mail ballots are also on their way to voters that have requested them. Mail ballots are due back at the Supervisor of Elections office by 7 p.m. on Aug. 23.

Because this is the first election following the state and local redistricting process, your district and voting precinct may have changed. Voters can visit www.VoteManatee.com to learn about their updated district and view a personalized sample ballot.

Here’s a list of the candidates on the 2022 primary ballot.

United States Senator

Republican candidate:

  • Marco Rubio (Incumbent)

Democrat candidates:

  • Ricardo De La Fuente

  • Val Demings

  • Brian Rush

  • William Sanchez

U.S. House of Representatives - District 16

Republican candidates:

  • Vern Buchanan (Incumbent)

  • Martin Hyde

Governor of Florida

Republican candidate:

  • Ron DeSantis & Jeanette Nuñez (Incumbents)

Democrat candidates:

  • Charlie Crist

  • Cadance Daniel

  • Nicole “Nikki” Fried

  • Robert L. Willis

Florida Attorney General

Republican candidate:

  • Ashley Moody (Incumbent)

Democrat candidates:

  • Aramis Ayala

  • Jim Lewis

  • Daniel Uhlfelder

Florida Commissioner of Agriculture

Republican candidates:

  • James W. Shaw

  • Wilton Simpson

Democrat candidates:

  • Naomi Esther Blemur

  • J.R. Gaillot

  • Ryan Morales

Florida State Senator - District 20

Republican candidates:

  • Jim Boyd, (Incumbent)

  • John Houman

Florida State Senator - District 22

Republican candidates:

  • Joe Gruters (Incumbent)

  • Michael Johnson

Manatee Board of County Commissioners

District 2

  • Reggie Bellamy, Democrat (Incumbent)

  • Charles B. Smith, Democrat

District 4

  • Misty Servia, Republican (Incumbent)

  • Michael C. Rahn, Republican

District 6 — Countywide

  • Carol Whitmore, Republican (Incumbent)

  • Jason Bearden, Republican

  • Carol Ann Felts, Republican

Manatee School Board

District 2

  • Susan Agruso

  • Harold E. Byrd, Jr.

  • Cindy Spray

District 4

  • Chad Choate (Incumbent)

  • Sean Conley

District 5

  • James T. Golden (Incumbent)

  • Richard Tatem

  • Chantal Wilford

Manatee County voters will head to the polls in August to cast their ballots in the 2022 primary election.
Manatee County voters will head to the polls in August to cast their ballots in the 2022 primary election.