Candidates for public office in rural West Tennessee

·1 min read

Here’s a list of those who have announced their intent to run for office in local elections in Madison County and surrounding areas. Candidates can begin pulling petitions on Dec. 20.

This list will be updated as candidates indicate their intentions to run.

Madison County Mayor

Republican nomination

John Newman – current Madison County trustee and former Madison County Commission

Madison County Sheriff

Republican nomination

John Mehr – incumbent

Julian Wiser – current Jackson Police Chief

Independent or no declared party affiliation

Marc Byrum – 25-year veteran of MCSO

Madison County trustee

Republican nomination

Billy Burkhead – current internal auditor with Madison County Finance Department

Trey Cleek – Madison County Commissioner, District 4

Madison County Circuit Court Clerk

Republican nomination

Gail Mooney - current chief deputy clerk/bookkeeper for circuit court clerk, 29-year employee

Independent or no declared party affiliation

Mary Stewart Taylor - administrative assistant for Judge Don Allen of Circuit Court, Division II

26th District, Division I Circuit Court Judge

Republican nomination

Joseph Howell - Juvenile Court Magistrate

Anyone who wants to publicly announce their candidacy for any position in Madison County or rural West Tennessee can do so by e-mailing editor Brandon Shields at

This article originally appeared on Jackson Sun: Candidates for public office in rural West Tennessee

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting