CCM creates special committee to recommend allocating $1.56 billion in federal funds for Connecticut cities and towns

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

With $1.56 billion in federal funds coming for local towns, the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities has established a special advisory committee to recommend how to spend the money.

Under the stimulus package approved by Congress and signed into law by President Joe Biden, the money will be set aside for general government purposes across the state. In addition, nearly $1 billion will be allocated separately for Connecticut public schools.

The federal funding is unprecedented, and local officials are looking for the best advice on spending the money.

Overall, $6.2 billion will be coming to Connecticut. That includes $2.6 billion for state government over three years, including $1.75 billion that will go directly into the state budget over the next two years. Lawmakers said the additional federal money will help the state avoid deficits in the two-year, $46 billion budget that still must be negotiated by the legislature and signed into law by Gov. Ned Lamont in the coming weeks.

The 13 members of CCM’s advisory group are:

 Fred Carstensen, professor of finance and economics and director of the Connecticut Center for Economic Analysis at the University of Connecticut

 Gian-Carl Casa, chief executive officer, Connecticut Community Nonprofit Alliance

 Chris DiPentima, chief executive officer, Connecticut Business & Industry Association

 John Glascock, professor of real estate and finance, and director of the Center for Real Estate and Urban Studies at the University of Connecticut

 Gene Goddard, chief business investment officer at the MetroHartford Alliance

 Dale Graver, regional director at VC3

 Eric Gjede, vice president for government affairs at the Connecticut Business & Industry Association

 Courtney Hendricson, vice president of partnerships at AdvanceCT

 Patrick McMahon, chief executive officer at Connecticut Main Street Center

 Brig Smith, general counsel for the city of Middletown General Counsel and president of Connecticut Association of Municipal Attorneys

 Norm Needleman, state senator and first selectman of Essex

 Carl Fortuna, first selectman of Old Saybrook

 David Demchak, chief executive officer of Connecticut Interlocal Risk Management Agency

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting