Celebrating the Amarillo Globe-News 2021 Man and Woman of the Year

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·5 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

As part of the Amarillo Globe-News’ continuing Man and Woman of the Year tradition, AGN Media will again present a virtual celebration honoring this years recipients.

The 2021 Man and Woman of the Year celebration, presented by FirstBank Southwest, will air at noon Thursday on the Globe-News’ website and social media accounts. The video will feature conversations with honorees Russell Lowery-Hart and Linda Vaughn, as well as community and city leaders speaking to their long, continuing contributions.

FirstBank Southwest
FirstBank Southwest

"For over 70 years the Amarillo Globe-News has honored the very best of the leadership of the Panhandle, the very best of who we are," said Andy Marshall, CEO of FirstBank Southwest. "This year's honorees embody all of what is great about the Panhandle and its people ... FirstBank Southwest is extremely proud to be a part of the Amarillo Globe-News Man and Woman of the Year awards and are humbled to be in the presence of the leaders it honors.

According to previous reports by the Amarillo Globe-News, AGN Media chose to honor Lowery-Hart, the president of Amarillo College, and Vaughn, a retired educator and volunteer.

For more information about Thursday's Man and Woman of the Year festivities, visit www.amarillo.com or visit the Amarillo Globe-News on Facebook or on Twitter.

Linda Vaughn

Linda Vaughn
Linda Vaughn

Long-time Amarillo community leader and retired educator Vaughn was chosen as the Amarillo Globe-News 2021 Woman of the Year presented by FirstBank Southwest.

Vaughn was born and raised in Amarillo and is described by many as a very giving person who is a pillar of the community. She attended the old Amarillo High School at 13th Avenue and Polk Street.

Vaughn is a retired Amarillo Independent School District principal, serving for 33 years. She has been a vital member of Center City of Amarillo for over a decade with a distinct passion for helping to restore the downtown area that she grew up so close to at Third Avenue and South Harrison Street.

Currently, Vaughn is a member of the board of directors for Center City and has also served in multiple roles within the downtown revitalization organization, including as president and secretary. She got her start with Center City, organizing its annual block parties.


Dr. Russel Lowery-Hart, president of AC and Amarillo Globe-News 2021 Man of the Year
Dr. Russel Lowery-Hart, president of AC and Amarillo Globe-News 2021 Man of the Year

Dr. Russell Lowery-Hart’s commitment to his community can be seen in his initiatives that create a culture of caring that removes barriers hindering a student's success.

Lowery-Harts' commitment to each individual's future has helped rejuvenate the community's economy and has led Amarillo College to a year of many distinctions. It is his continued advocacy for Amarillo and commitment to a brighter future that earned him the title of the Amarillo Globe-News 2021 Man of the Year presented by FirstBank Southwest.

Lowery-Hart, president of Amarillo College, has led the school through many achievements throughout the year, including the national recognition of being named the Aspen Institute's Rising Star Award recipient and being recognized as one of the Top 5 Community Colleges in the nation. The community college was awarded this distinction along with a $100,000 award in May of 2021.

Just a month later in June, the college was awarded the Excellence for Exemplary CEO/Board Relationship award, a national distinction for which only one community college is selected annually by The American Association of Community Colleges.

Previous Man and Woman of the Year Award winners

Below is a list of previous Amarillo Globe-News Woman and Man of the Year Award recipients:

2020: The community's healthcare workers

2019: Paul Engler, Beth Duke

2018: Jerry Hodge, Lulu Cowan

2017: Chuck Alexander, Jan Barker

2016: Allen Shankles, Mary Lou Robinson

2015: Rod Schroder, Sandy Fenberg

2014: Tom Cambridge, Carol Lovelady

2013: Joe Street, Linda Hughes

2012: Bud Joyner, Sharon Oeschger

2011: Glenn McMennamy, Brenda Graham

2010: Eddie Melin, Myrna Raffkind

2009: Gary Pitner, Lilia Escajeda

2008: Ron Boyd, Diann Gilmore

2007: Don Lane, Alice O’Brien

2006: Glen Parkey, Laura Street

2005: Bill Gilliland, Julie Attebury

2004: The Rev. Jesse Cortez, Doris Alexander

2003: Rick Husband, Evelyn Husband

2002: Garet von Netzer, Betty Solis

2001: Guyon Saunders, Mary Emeny

2000: Gary Stevens, Helen Vahue

1999: Hugh and Bill Sticksel, Shirley Fancher

1998: Bob Sanders, Betsy Singleton

1997: Jim Simms, Mila Gibson

1996: Melvin Troe, Patsy Walker

1995: Dan Lynch, Mary Schooler

1994: Roy E. Turner, Sandra Gilliland

1993: Harold Smith, Dusty McGuire

1992: Jerome Johnson, Wendy Marsh

1991: Don Mason, Hazel Kelley Wilson

1990: L. O’Brien Thompson, Sharon Brown

1989: Dr. Winfred Moore, Eveline Rivers

1988: John Chandler, Betty Bivins

1987: B.R. Barfield, Pattilou Dawkins

1986: Don Powell, Ann McKay

1985: Jack Bryant, Jo Randel

1984: W.W. Nicklaus, Eunice King

1983: John Stif, Goldie Hermsmeyer

1982: Jim Matthews, Mary Hazelrigg

1981: The Rev. Jacinto Alderete, Margaret Harper

1980: Dr. James Carroll, Frances Powell

1979: Dr. Phillip Periman, Sybil Harrington

1978: Bob “Pappy” Watson, Betty Howell and DeDe Baum

1977: Dr. Winfred Moore, Claudette Landess

1976: E.W. Williams Jr., Louise Evans Bruce

1975: L. Ray Vahue, Kathleen Coughlin

1974: Roy Tolk

1973: Horace Scott

1972: The Rev. Richard Hogan

1971: Wales Madden Jr.

1970: R.G. Mills

1969: Jay Taylor

1968: L.P “Pete” Gilvin

1967: Milton “Buff” Morris

1966: Lewis Dodson

1965: Grady Hazlewood

1964: Virgil Patterson

1963: Gen. Dwight Monteith

1962: Dr. James P. Cornette

1961: Clyde Roller

1960: A.F. Madison

1959: R. Earl O’Keefe

1958: F.V. Wallace

1957: S.T. Curtis

1956: Dick Bivins

1955: Herbert O. Willborn

1954: Kenneth Grenewald

1953: Sgt. Roy Ratliff

1952: Cal Farley

1951: Gene Klein

1950: Harold Dunn

This article originally appeared on Amarillo Globe-News: Russell Lowery-Hart and Linda Vaughn named Man, Woman of the Year

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting