CT's Coronavirus Travel Advisory List: 2 States Added

·2 min read

CONNECTICUT — Oregon and Washington were added to Connecticut's coronavirus travel advisory list Tuesday and no states or territories were dropped. That brought the number of restricted areas to 44, according to the latest report from the state Department of Public Health.

This is the first Connecticut Travel Advisory update since New York broke with the state, and New Jersey, to create its own set of procedures. Gov. Andrew Cuomo's new policy requires anyone traveling in New York to test negative for the virus within three days prior to arrival. Once they arrive in New York, travelers must quarantine for three days and, on the fourth day, get tested for the virus again. If they test positive, travelers will be required to quarantine for an additional 14 days.

Nonessential travel among the states in the tri-state area is discouraged but not formally restricted.

States are put on the advisory list if they have a daily positive coronavirus test rate higher than 10 cases per 100,000 residents or a 10 percent or higher positive rate over a seven-day rolling average. Failure to complete a travel health form carries a civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation.

There are some exceptions to the rule. Workers traveling from affected states to Connecticut and vice versa who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, including students in exempt health care professions, and any state, local and federal officials and employees, are exempt from the quarantine requirement when such travel is work-related. Such essential workers are required to complete the travel health form, however.

While there currently are no Connecticut-imposed restrictions on international travel, the federal government continues to provide international travel recommendations for anyone living inside the United States. For guidance on international travel, see the "COVID-19 Travel Recommendations" published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

See Also: Town-By-Town Coronavirus Numbers Updated, Trends Cause Concern

As of Tuesday, the following 44 locations were included in Connecticut's travel advisory:

  1. Alabama

  2. Alaska

  3. Arizona

  4. Arkansas

  5. California

  6. Colorado

  7. Delaware

  8. Florida

  9. Georgia

  10. Guam

  11. Idaho

  12. Illinois

  13. Indiana

  14. Iowa

  15. Kansas

  16. Kentucky

  17. Louisiana

  18. Maryland

  19. Massachusetts

  20. Michigan

  21. Minnesota

  22. Mississippi

  23. Missouri

  24. Montana

  25. Nebraska

  26. Nevada

  27. New Mexico

  28. North Carolina

  29. North Dakota

  30. Ohio

  31. Oklahoma

  32. Oregon

  33. Pennsylvania

  34. Puerto Rico

  35. South Carolina

  36. South Dakota

  37. Tennessee

  38. Texas

  39. Utah

  40. Virginia

  41. Washington

  42. West Virginia

  43. Wisconsin

  44. Wyoming

This article originally appeared on the Across Connecticut Patch

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting