CT's Coronavirus Travel Advisory List: 3 States Added, 1 Dropped

Rich Kirby
·2 min read

CONNECTICUT — California, Massachusetts and Pennsylvania were added to Connecticut's coronavirus travel advisory list Tuesday and neighboring Rhode Island was dropped. That brought the number of restricted areas to 42, according to the latest report from the state Department of Public Health.

New Jersey and Rhode Island met the criteria for the travel advisory, however given the interconnected nature of the region, they were not included in the list, according to a news release from the governor's office Tuesday.

States are put on the advisory list if they have a daily positive coronavirus test rate higher than 10 cases per 100,000 residents or a 10 percent or higher positive rate over a seven-day rolling average. Failure to complete a travel health form carries a civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation.

Last week, Gov. Ned Lamont and the governors of New York and New Jersey agreed to give each other's states a pass when it came to quarantine restrictions. At the time, both New Jersey and Connecticut exceeded the allowable metrics in New York.

Nonessential travel among the states in the tri-state area is discouraged but not formally restricted.

"There is no practical way to quarantine travel to New York from New Jersey and Connecticut," New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. "It would have a disastrous effect on the economy."

Travelers who are required to self-quarantine may do so at their home, a hotel or other temporary lodging. Connecticut, New York and New Jersey asked hotels to communicate the quarantine requirements to guests who have traveled from one of the affected states.

There are some exceptions to the rule. Workers traveling from affected states to Connecticut and vice versa who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, including students in exempt health care professions, and any state, local and federal officials and employees, are exempt from the quarantine requirement when such travel is work-related. Such essential workers are required to complete the travel health form, however.

While there currently are no Connecticut-imposed restrictions on international travel, the federal government continues to provide international travel recommendations for anyone living inside the United States. For guidance on international travel, see the "COVID-19 Travel Recommendations" published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

See Also: CT's Coronavirus Travel Ban Has Evolved. Here's What That Means.

As of Tuesday, the following 42 locations were included in Connecticut's travel advisory:

  1. Alabama

  2. Alaska

  3. Arizona

  4. Arkansas

  5. California

  6. Colorado

  7. Delaware

  8. Florida

  9. Georgia

  10. Guam

  11. Idaho

  12. Illinois

  13. Indiana

  14. Iowa

  15. Kansas

  16. Kentucky

  17. Louisiana

  18. Maryland

  19. Massachusetts

  20. Michigan

  21. Minnesota

  22. Mississippi

  23. Missouri

  24. Montana

  25. Nebraska

  26. Nevada

  27. New Mexico

  28. North Carolina

  29. North Dakota

  30. Ohio

  31. Oklahoma

  32. Pennsylvania

  33. Puerto Rico

  34. South Carolina

  35. South Dakota

  36. Tennessee

  37. Texas

  38. Utah

  39. Virginia

  40. West Virginia

  41. Wisconsin

  42. Wyoming

This article originally appeared on the Across Connecticut Patch