Curtis, Auburn first South Sound boys hoops teams to win at Tacoma Dome in same season

Two high school boys basketball programs from the South Sound made history on Saturday night at a packed Tacoma Dome.

Curtis, the No. 2 seed in the 4A state tournament, opened the championship session with a thrilling 52-49 overtime win over previously undefeated defending champion and top seed Mount Si.

Later in the evening, Auburn, the No. 2 seed in 3A, capped its impressive run with a 58-48 victory over perennial state power in No. 4 seed Rainier Beach.

It was the first time two local boys programs have won championships inside the Tacoma Dome in the same season.

The area has produced more than one champion in the boys brackets in the same year seven times in history — there have been 10 years that have included multiple South Sound winners overall in the boys and girls tournaments combined — but never both at the Tacoma site.

Until Saturday night.

Curtis secured its third championship with the win over Mount Si — the Vikings also won it all in 1971 and 2013 — while Auburn celebrated its first title.

The last time two local boys program won in the same season was 2017, when Kentwood locked up the 4A boys title in Tacoma, while Foss won a 2A championship at the Yakima Valley SunDome.

Lakes topped 3A in front of the hometown crowd back in 2011, while Clover Park won 2A and Cascade Christian won a second consecutive 1A title in Yakima.

In 2010, Kentwood won the 4A championship in Tacoma, and Cascade Christian finished atop the 1A field in Yakima.

In 2009, Federal Way bested the 4A bracket in Tacoma, while Vashon Island topped the 1A bracket in Yakima.

Before that impressive three-season stretch, it had been decades since two local boys teams had won titles in the same year.

Puyallup won the tournament now classified as a 4A championship at Hec Edmundson Pavilion in Seattle in 1971, while Curtis won what is now considered 3A at the UPS Fieldhouse in Tacoma.

The first time two local boys programs won in the same season was 1931, when Stadium won what is now 4A at the Seattle site (when it was University of Washington Pavilion), and Eatonville what is now 2B at the same location.


Per Washington Interscholastic Activities Association championship records, South Sound basketball programs have won more than 50 titles in history. The full list is below. Seasons with multiple local champions are listed in bold.

Note: Classifications listed may be different than when games were originally played, as the state association has expanded over the years.

2022 — Curtis (4A boys), Auburn (3A boys)

2018 — Gig Harbor (3A girls)

2017 — Kentwood (4A boys), Foss (2A boys), Kentridge (4A girls)

2016 — Federal Way (4A boys)

2015 — Federal Way (4A boys)

2013 — Curtis (4A boys)

2011 — Lakes (3A boys), Clover Park (2A boys), Cascade Christian (1A boys)

2010 — Kentwood (4A boys), Cascade Christian (1A boys), Auburn Riverside (4A girls), River Ridge (2A girls)

2009 — Federal Way (4A boys), Vashon Island (1A boys), Kentwood (4A girls), Kennedy Catholic (3A girls)

2008 — Charles Wright (1A boys), Auburn Riverside (3A girls), River Ridge (2A girls)

2007 — Auburn Riverside (3A girls), River Ridge (2A girls)

2005 — Bethel (4A boys)

2004 — Kentwood (4A boys)

2002 — Lincoln (4A boys)

2001 — Lincoln (4A boys)

2000 — Foss (4A boys)

1998 — Chief Leschi (2B boys)

1997 — Federal Way (4A girls)

1996 — Gig Harbor (3A boys)

1995 — Kent Meridian (4A girls)

1992 — Kentridge (4A boys)

1991 — Auburn (4A girls)

1986 — Olympia (3A boys)

1985 — Steilacoom (1A boys)

1984 — Steilacoom (1A boys)

1983 — Orting (1A boys), Auburn (4A girls)

1982 — Clover Park (4A girls)

1980 — Timberline (3A boys)

1978 — Clover Park (4A girls)

1976 — Shelton (3A boys)

1975 — Lincoln (4A boys)

1973 — White River (1A boys)

1971 — Puyallup (4A boys), Curtis (3A boys)

1970 — Bethel (3A boys)

1969 — Central Kitsap (3A boys)

1959 — Stadium (4A boys)

1958 — Yelm (2B boys)

1950 — South Kitsap (4A boys)

1931 — Stadium (4A boys), Eatonville (2B boys)

1929 — Olympia (4A boys)

This story was written by Lauren Smith of The News Tribune and originally published by The News Tribune.