Dave Farrington Jr. first to the finish in SLM at Oxford Plains Speedway

·2 min read

May 31—It took two extra days, after five winless weeks, for two-time defending Super Late Model season champion Dave Farrington Jr. to capture his first feature win of the season at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The SLM division was scheduled to race as part of the normal Oxford Championship Series slate Saturday at Oxford Plains, but weather forced Farrington and the other drivers in the division to wait until Monday, when the speedway held its first Motor Mayhem event of the season. The SLMs, Mods and Thunder Stocks were all added to the day's festivities, which included an enduro and the season debut of the Oxford Acceleration Series divisions.

Farrington picked up his third podium finish of the season — he was runner-up the second week and third two weeks ago — after crossing the line first in Monday's 50-lap feature. Scott Moore and Calvin Rose Jr. rounded out the podium.

Shawn Knight won his second Mods feature of the season, edging Brandon Varney in a repeat of the top-two finishers from opening day. The Thunder Stocks finish was also a repeat from the season opener, with Charlie Young besting Adam Stearns.

Five 20-lap features were run in the Oxford Acceleration Series slate, as well as a 15-lap feature for the Jr. Rookies division.

Drew Morse (Outlaws), Adam Oneil (Rebels), Delaney Dunn (Cruisers), Breeanna Spaulding (Ladies), Matt Merrill (Trucks) and Alexis Lundblad (Jr. Rookies) each picked up the first feature wins of the season in their respective divisions.

Luke Mowatt outlasted the rest of the field in the 50-lap enduro.

In the shadow of Ben Ashline capturing his third Coastal 200 title at Wiscasset Speedway on Sunday, three drivers from the track's weekly divisions also found victory lane.

Ryan Ripley won his third Modifieds feature in as many sessions for the division this season.

Kurt Hewins came out victorious in Strictly Streets. Josh St. Clair, the winner in each of the first two features of the season in the division, finished third behind Jason Gaboury.

David Whitelaw crossed the line first in the 20-lap Roadrunners feature.

Farrington, who ventured out to Wiscasset the day before his victory at Oxford Plains, finished fourth in the Coastal 200.