Day of voting for 2022 midterms begins at 7 a.m. Tuesday

Nov. 5—Election Day voting for the 2022 midterm elections will begin at 7 a.m. Tuesday and continue until 7 p.m. that evening.

In Aiken County and South Carolina, voting on Election Day takes place at polling precincts located throughout the county and state.

To find a voting precinct, a registered voter can log onto and scroll down the page until they locate and click on the "Find My Precinct" option below a gold "MySCVotes" tab.

The voter will be asked to enter their county of registration, their first name, last name, date of birth and the last four digits of their Social Security number on the next screen. There is also a robot test that could be required to move forward.

The next screen provides the location of the voter's polling precinct and an option to open the location in Google Maps for directions.

Polling precinct locations are also provided on a voter's registration card and unless the precinct changes places within days of the election, any changes in location will be mailed to the registered voter. If the precinct changes locations within days of the election, notices will be posted at the previous precinct that provide the new location.

Once a voter arrives at the precinct, they will need to provide photo identification to vote. Accepted photo identifications are a South Carolina driver's license, South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles identify card, U.S. Passport or federal military identification.

The voter will be escorted to a voting machine, asked to enter their ballot and make their choices.

In Aiken County, there will be eight statewide races on the ballot.

The governor and lieutenant governor's race will include Republican incumbents Henry McMaster and Pamela Evette, Democrats Joe Cunningham and Tally Parham Casey and Libertarians Bruce Reeves and Jessica Ethridge.

The secretary of state's race features Republican incumbent Mark Hammond and Democrat Rosemounda Peggy Butler.

Republican incumbent Curtis Loftis faces Sarah Work of the Alliance Party in the state treasurer race.

Republican incumbents Alan Wilson and Richard Eckstrom are unopposed in the races for attorney general and comptroller general.

There are four entries on the ballot for state superintendent of education: Patricia M. Mickel of the Green Party, Ellen Weaver of the Republican Party and Lisa Ellis is listed as both a Democratic and Alliance Party candidate.

In the race for agriculture commissioner, Republican incumbent Hugh Weathers faces Chris Nelums of the United Citizens Party and David Edmond of the Green Party.

And Republican incumbent Tim Scott faces S.C. Rep. Krystle Matthews, D-Dorchester, in the U.S. Senate race.

Voters will also elect their representative in the United States and South Carolina House of Representatives.

Aiken and Barnwell counties are included in the Second Congressional District where Republican incumbent Joe Wilson faces Democrat Judd Larkins.

Edgefield County is included in the Third Congressional District where Republican incumbent Jeff Duncan is unopposed.

One Aiken County state House of Representatives race is contested: the House District 83 (North Augusta and southern Edgefield County) race between Republican incumbent Bill Hixon and Democrat Jerico "J.D." McCoy.

S.C. Reps. Bart Blackwell, Bill Clyburn, Melissa Oremus and Bill Taylor are unopposed.

There also could be soil and water commission, county council and school board races on the ballot.

There will also be two statewide referendum questions on the ballot.

Once voters make their choices and confirm them, they will receive their ballot back from the machine and will need to deposit the ballot in large machine nearby.