I deleted TikTok and requested a file with all my data. Here's how to do it and what I found

·3 min read

There are viral dances. There are life hacks. There are adorable animals. But also, maybe you don't need to watch FYP videos until 2 a.m.

Maybe it's time to delete the TikTok app.

TikTok recently reached the 1 billion user mark, putting it on track to become the next Instagram. The app, owned by Chinese company ByteDance, has also seen its share of controversy. It recently came under criticism for its effect on teenage girl body image. It's also been the subject of concerning school challenges, including one encouraging students to "smack a staff member." Previously, Trump-era executive orders attempted to ban the app, citing security concerns about how it was collecting data.

If you're looking to get rid of your TikTok, here's a step-by-step guide of what the process looks like and all the verifications you need to take in order to delete your TikTok.

A few things to note: Before you delete your TikTok, the app will automatically ask if you want to get all the data associated with the account in the form of a txt or json file.

What data does TikTok send you?

I actually did the request process, and after a few days, TikTok sent me a file with folders like Activity, Ads and data, App Settings, Comments, Direct Messages, Profile and Video.

If you request your data from TikTok, this is what they send you
If you request your data from TikTok, this is what they send you

If you open them, each data entry will have information like Date, Link and Message depending on the content.

For example, every comment that I've ever made was saved in this scrollable file along with the date and time that I made the comment.

When you download your data from TikTok, they'll send you files with information like all the comments you left on the platform.
When you download your data from TikTok, they'll send you files with information like all the comments you left on the platform.

How to delete TikTok and request your data

When you try to delete your TikTok, your account is actually only deactivated for 30 days, meaning it won't be visible to the public. If you have the willpower to last more than 30 days, your account and all the data associated with it will be deleted permanently.

TikTok and privacy: What's the problem? Perhaps the video-sharing app gathers too much data

Here's how it works:

1. Go to My Profile (the person icon on the bottom right corner), and tap the triple bars located on the top right corner.

Click the triple bars at the top to begin deleting our TikTok
Click the triple bars at the top to begin deleting our TikTok


2. Tap Manage account > Delete account.

Click Manage account.
Click Manage account.


3. Click Delete Account.

Click Delete account
Click Delete account

4. Choose to download your data (or not).

You can submit a request to download your TikTok data. The request may take a few days, and the data will be open for downloads four days after it is made available.

Data includes your username, profile photo, bio, contact info, video history, comment history, chat history, like history, favorites history, privacy settings, notification preferences and language settings.

The data can be downloaded in the form of a TXT (human readable) or a JSON (machine readable) file.

Note that you can stop at this step to view all your data and don't have to go through with the full deletion. You can just go back to this screen a few days later to view your data.

Request a download of your TikTok data.
Request a download of your TikTok data.

5. Confirm the deletion with two-step verification.

Once you click delete, your account will be deactivated for 30 days. After that, you won't be able to access your account, your videos and your drafts.

The final step to deleting your TikTok is two step verification
The final step to deleting your TikTok is two step verification

Congrats, you've completed all the steps to deleting your TikTok!

Are you over Instagram? How to delete or deactivate your Instagram account.

Michelle Shen is a Money & Tech Digital Reporter for USA TODAY. You can reach her @michelle_shen10 on Twitter.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: How to delete TikTok off of your phone, with helpful screenshots

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting