How Difficult Is It To Get An Abortion? Here Are The Laws For Every State.

Ashley Alese Edwards

With Brett Kavanaugh — a judge who once said Roe v. Wade is not settled law — recently sworn-in as the ninth justice in the U.S. Supreme Court, President Donald Trump and Republicans have all the votes they need to make abortion illegal again in the United States.

The nomination is a long-time triumph for anti-abortion advocates. Trump was called "the most pro-life president in American history" by Vice President Mike Pence before the March for Life , an annual anti-abortion rally that started in 1974. Soon after that pronouncement, Trump became the first sitting president to appear at the march, committing to his promise “to build a society where life is celebrated, protected, and cherished" — in other words, to make America a place where a woman's right to choose no longer exists.

Although critics will argue Trump's pivot to being pro-life was purely opportunistic, he has in fact been keeping his word: He expanded the global gag rule, which blocks federal aid to foreign organizations that provide abortions; nominated two anti-choice justices to the U.S. Supreme Court; and has continued Republican efforts to defund Planned Parenthood.

Last year, we wrote about how the pro-life movement is slowly winning the war to overturn Roe v. Wade, and although reproductive rights face constant assault at the federal level, it is the war being waged against abortion at the state level that should give pro-choice advocates pause. Since our report last year on abortion laws in each state, so much has already changed. In the first three months of 2018, 347 measures to restrict abortion or birth control had been introduced in 37 states, according to the Guttmacher Institute. Ten new restrictions on abortion were adopted in five states. Several states have put extreme restrictions in place since Trump's election: Iowa tried to ban abortion at six weeks, well before many women even know they are pregnant; Mississippi also tried to ban the procedure at 15 weeks; Arizona now requires women to explain why they are seeking an abortion.

So this is actually how abortion ends in America — the slow chiseling away of rights until we are left with a country where women have to go to dangerous means to end a pregnancy.

Ahead, we have compiled the laws and restrictions around abortion in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. We will continue to update as necessary.

ALABAMA

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials in person or by mail, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Parental consent: The parents of women under the age 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Alabama’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

ALASKA

Mandatory counseling: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure.

Parental consent: Unmarried women below the age of 17 must have parental consent.

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can receive public funds for an abortion if their health is in danger.

ARIZONA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, parts of which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age 18 must consent to the procedure.

Obamacare, Medicaid, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Arizona’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. In the case of women who are in the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered or their health is severely compromised. Women on Medicaid won’t receive any coverage, even when the procedure is considered medically necessary.

“Born alive” provision: The provision requires doctors to see "all available means and medical skills are used” to save a fetus in the case an abortion results on a live birth, even if it has no chance of surviving outside of the womb. (There’s already a federal law that allows medical professionals to evaluate whether to do this on a case-by-case basis.)

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

Mandatory questionnaire: Women will be asked if they were seeking an abortion because of sexual assault, sex trafficking, or they are victims of domestic violence. The information would then be reported to the state without using the woman’s name.

ARKANSAS

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials in person or by mail, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. (Some of the materials include things such as a list of adoption agencies or the gestational age of what the state calls the “unborn child.”) Afterwards, they must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of rape, incest, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Alabama’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

D&E procedure ban: A common second-trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation has been banned.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

CALIFORNIA

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

Public funding and health insurance: All private health insurance plans in California are required to provide abortion coverage.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must provide written consent to the procedure.

COLORADO

Public funding and health insurance restrictions: Abortion is not covered by the health insurance of public employees. Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

Parental consent: Two parents, with exceptions, of a young woman under the age of 18 must be given notice before the procedure. If the young woman is living with other adult relatives, they may be notified instead.

CONNECTICUT

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

DELAWARE

Public funding: Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 16 must be notified about the procedure at least 48 hours before it takes place. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Public funding: Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

FLORIDA

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure at least 24 hours before it takes place. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances, such as she is or has been married, has been emancipated, or if she already has a child. However, the notification can’t be waived in cases of rape or incest.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Florida’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

GEORGIA

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of a pregnancy that is not viable, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Georgia’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life or health. In the case of women who are in the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered. Public funding is available only in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

HAWAII

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

IDAHO

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure. Doctors are also required to report how many times a patient has terminated a pregnancy.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding, Obamacare, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Idaho’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Private insurers only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life. In the case of women who are in the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered. Public funding is available only in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

ILLINOIS

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

Medicaid, and health insurance restrictions: In the case of women who are in the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered or their health is severely compromised. Women on Medicaid won’t receive any coverage, even when the procedure is considered medically necessary.

INDIANA

Mandatory counseling and 18-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person. Some of the materials are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 18 hours after being counseled before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Indiana’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is also only in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

IOWA

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

Public funding and Medicaid: Public funds are available in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The use of Medicaid funds for an abortion must be approved by the governor.

6-week-ban: Abortion procedures are banned after six weeks, except in case of rape, incest, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

KANSAS

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Kansas’ Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

KENTUCKY

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Kentucky’s Obamacare stipulations and private insurers cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Abortion is not covered under the health insurance plans for public employees. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

LOUISIANA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of a pregnancy that is not viable, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare and public funding: Health plans under Louisiana’s Obamacare stipulations may not cover abortion. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

D&E procedure ban: A common second-trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation has been banned.

MAINE

Public funding: Public funds are available in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

MARYLAND

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

MASSACHUSETTS

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

MICHIGAN

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Michigan’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only in cases where the woman's life or health is endangered.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

MINNESOTA

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

MISSISSIPPI

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

15-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 15 weeks, except in case of severe fetal impairment, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Mississippi’s Obamacare stipulations cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother’s life. The health insurance plans for public employees and public funding can cover abortion in cases of life endangerment, rape, incest, or fetal impairment.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

MISSOURI

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Missouri’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only in cases where the woman's life or health is endangered.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

MONTANA

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only in cases where the woman's life or health is endangered.

NEBRASKA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Nebraska’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

NEVADA

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Parental consent: Unmarried, unemancipated women below the age of 18 must have consent of one parent.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

NEW JERSEY

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

NEW MEXICO

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

NEW YORK

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

NORTH CAROLINA

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under North Carolina’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same applies to public funding.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

NORTH DAKOTA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under North Dakota’s’ Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

OHIO

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure, since the provider must test for a fetal heartbeat. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Ohio’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

OKLAHOMA

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Oklahoma’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

OREGON

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

PENNSYLVANIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Pennsylvania’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

RHODE ISLAND

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding and health insurance restrictions: Health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

SOUTH CAROLINA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 17 must consent to the procedure. Providers can waive that requirement in some circumstances.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases where the pregnancy is considered “medically futile” or there’s danger to the mother’s life or health.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under South Carolina’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

SOUTH DAKOTA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under South Dakota’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life or health. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

TENNESSEE

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Tennessee’s Obamacare conditions are not allowed to cover abortions. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

Post-viability ban: Abortion procedures are banned after viability, except when the mother’s life or physical health is severely compromised.

TEXAS

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

D&E procedure ban: A common second-trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation has been banned.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

UTAH

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only in cases of incest, rape, fetal anomaly, or when the woman's life or health is endangered.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Utah’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, fetal impairment, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, fetal anomaly, rape, or incest.

VERMONT

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

VIRGINIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents or “authorized persons” related to women under the age of 18 must be given notice and consent to the procedure.

Third trimester ban: An abortion may be performed after the third trimester only in cases where the woman's life or health is endangered.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Virginia’s Obamacare stipulations cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or when the mother’s life is in danger. Health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life, fetal impairment, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, fetal anomaly, rape, or incest.


WASHINGTON

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there’s no restrictions such as a medical justification.

WEST VIRGINIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must be notified about the procedure. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case the pregnancy is not viable, danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for abortions in cases of medical necessity, danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

WISCONSIN

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Wisconsin’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother’s life. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end the pregnancy in the first trimester.

WYOMING

Parental consent: One of the parents of women under the age of 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Like what you see? How about some more R29 goodness, right here?

Police Suspect Foul Play In Disappearance Of Pregnant Postal Worker Kierra Coles

What Ivanka Did This Week: Karlie & Josh's Super-Secret Wedding

New Facts In The Disappearance of 13-Year-Old Jayme Closs