Dirty Dozen comes through for the Bill Shaw fund

·4 min read
Ways to Save: Places to upcycle in the Fayetteville area

With Christmas just days away, old friends the Dirty Dozen have come through with more than $18,000 — the longtime donors' biggest gift yet.

The donation of $19,816.85 marks the 62nd year that the Dirty Dozen has made financial contributions to the Bill Shaw Salvation Army Christmas Fund, according to a statement from Lee Warren and Albert McCauley, the group's chairman and vice-chairman. The 2021 contribution is made in memory of longtime member George E. Tatum; Clay McDonald, a second-generation member and son of Gene McDonald; Harvey W. Butch Raynor; V. F. Talley, the group's longtime "chairman"; and Bill Shaw, for whom the fund is named.

The donation is also in memory of J. Lee Warren; Col. H B Smith; Bob Streib; H. B. Farrell; Henry Cotten; Henry Melvin; R. C. Melvin; K. O. Spears; Lambert Williams; Luther Gore; Bobby Breece; Wimpy McCorquedale; M. J. Taylor; J. C. Yarborough; Jim Reaves; Floyd Ammons; C. K. Andrews; Joe Andrews; James Dobbins; Joe Pearce; Victor Kilby; Ottis Jones; Buzz Ward; Dempsey Hall; Vernon Spuill Sr.; David C. Smith; Cecil Fisher; Gene McDonald; Winston Turner; Tom Hobbs; Landis Chavis; Marvin Smith; Abner Hubbard; J. R. Peaden, Sr.; Herman Bishop; Jessie Cannady; Fes Spell; Dewitt Johnson; Sen. Joe Raynor; Fonzie Williamson; Ed Grannis; Bob Muncy; Claude Capps; Tommy Griffin; Ed Melvin; Billy Barrett; Bob Smith; Cuyler Windham; Wade Anders; S. T. Horne Jr.; Jack Knowles; Willis Brown; Dan Raynor; Miles Edge Jr.; David L. Matthews; Butch Raynor; George E. Tatum; and Clay McDonald.

In 2021, the Dirty Dozen started the Dirty Dozen Endowment Fund through the Cumberland Community Foundation and currently has more than $53,000 in that fund, according to the statement.

The Dirty Dozen was formed in 1959 and has consistently supported the Bill Shaw fund.

Thank you, friends.

In addition to the Dirty Dozen's generosity, retired Col. Leon L. Price and Ladonna L. Price join our elite $1,000 club. Thank you for your donation.

Those who will be helped by the donations and the fund’s organizers appreciate everyone who writes checks to help families in the Fayetteville area at Christmas and throughout the year.

The Salvation Army uses money given to the fund for programs that serve children and families in Cumberland, Hoke, Moore, Robeson and Scotland counties.

You can donate by writing your tax-deductible check to the Bill Shaw Salvation Army Christmas Fund and mailing it to P.O. Box 110, Fayetteville, NC 28302. You also may drop off the checks at the Salvation Army's office on East Russell Street.

Here is Tuesday's list of donors. Thank you again to each and every one of you.

Mary H. Smith, $100

RetiredAir Force 1st Lt. William S. Johnson and Charlotte B. Johnson, $200

Peace Presbyterian Church Presbyterian Women, $100

Ronald H. Buryk and Jane E. Buryk, $100

Gay D. Moser, $100

Retired Sgt. 1st Class Otis Huff Jr. and Noelle Huff, $50

Betty Caviness, $200

Earl M. Vaughan, $200 in memory of Peggy Blount Vaughn

Retired Col. Leon L. Price and Ladonna Price, $1,000

Dr. Frank S. Shaw, $100 in memory of John Shaw

Richard L. Gaffney and Judith R. Gaffney, $100

James Smith, $25

Ella Jacobs, $10

Cammie Calloway, $100

Carol Bulland, $10

Patti Landy, $50

Jepha Johnson, $50

Mr. and Mrs. Eddie C. Moore, $200

Sheila Monroe, $100

Chris W. Stephenson, $25

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Bates, $50

Christine Tijunelis, $20

Joe Denning, $30

Larry Elsom, $25

Olivia Chavis Jr., $200

Margaret Rose Owen, $100 in memory of Command Sgt. Maj. John C. Owen

Mr. and Mrs. Gerard Catapano, $25

Carter W. Allen, $50

Smith, $15

Betty Ann Shaw, $30

Jean Broker, $25

Dirty Dozen, $18,716.85 (From members J. Lee Warren Jr.; Jamie Ammons; Jim Ammons; Suzanne Streib Heflin; Earl Ray Butler; Marvin W. Smith Jr.; Neil Yarborough; Vernon Spruill Jr.; Michael G. Farrell Sr.; Dan K. McNeill; Jon L. Warren Sr.; Johnnie Evans; F. Milo McBryde; Dr. Breeden Blackwell; Luther M. Gore III; W. Lyndo Tippett; Maryann S. Johnson; Wade McDonald; Susan Lynn Talley; Donovan E. McLaurin; Dolores Knowles; Elizabeth M. Varnedoe; Terry Zane Adams; Zita Y. Barrett; Jimmy & Ricky Peaden; H. Lee Norris; Talmage Baggett Jr.; Corey Breece; Robert W. Breece Jr.; Joe McDaniel Jr.; Ray W. Davis; Kenneth Owen Spears Jr.; Mary Talley; Al Heatwole; Phillip McCorquedale; Dawn Matthews Carpenter; Martha J. Talley; Paul Hinson; Sen. Brent Jackson; Albert McCauley; and Marianna McCauley)

Anonymous: $620

Total: $23,826.85

Grand total: $98,380.35

This article originally appeared on The Fayetteville Observer: Dirty Dozen comes through for Bill Shaw fund