The late Don Drysdale, a former Chicago White Sox TV announcer, is among 8 finalists for the Baseball Hall of Fame’s 2021 Frick Award

Phil Rosenthal, Chicago Tribune
·2 min read

The late Don Drysdale, the Hall of Fame pitcher and former Chicago White Sox TV announcer, is among eight finalists for the 2021 Ford C. Frick Award, the National Baseball Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The Frick Award is the Hall of Fame’s highest honor for broadcasters.

Longtime White Sox announcer Ken “Hawk” Harrelson was the 2020 Frick Award winner but has yet to be formally honored in Cooperstown, N.Y., because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Harrelson was selected as a local announcer from a field of finalists that included current Chicago Cubs radio voice Pat Hughes.

The 2021 Frick Award will honor one of eight finalists for their national broadcasting work. Others under consideration are Al Michaels, Joe Buck, Dave Campbell, Dan Shulman, Dizzy Dean, Ernesto Jerez and Buddy Blattner.

The third group in the award’s rotation, set to be honored in 2022, will be broadcast pioneers.

A Hall of Fame pitcher with the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers from 1956 to 1969, Drysdale was a White Sox announcer on WFLD-Ch. 32 and SportsVision from 1982 to 1987.

Drysdale also was a local voice for the Montreal Expos (1970–71), Texas Rangers (1972), California Angels (1973–79, 1981) and Dodgers (1988-93). But the Hall has him under consideration for his 10 years on ABC’s “Monday Night Baseball” beginning in 1977.

Drysdale, Blattner and Dean died in 1993, 2009 and 1974, respectively. Dean pitched for the Cubs from 1938 to 1941, but it’s his years with the St. Louis Cardinals that made him a Hall of Famer as a player.

By virtue of winning the Frick Award for 2020, Harrelson — who shared a White Sox broadcast booth with Drysdale for a time — joins the award’s selection jury with fellow living honorees Marty Brennaman, Bob Costas, Jaime Jarrín, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Eric Nadel, Vin Scully, Bob Uecker and Dave Van Horne, as well as writers David J. Halberstam, Barry Horn and Curt Smith.


©2020 the Chicago Tribune

Visit the Chicago Tribune at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.