Election 2020: Berlin Voter Guide

Brian McCready
·2 min read

BERLIN, CT — Voters in Berlin will head to the polls Tuesday, Nov. 3, for the 2020 general election.

In addition to the presidential and congressional races, all state House of Representative and Senate seats are up for grabs. Voting will be different this year thanks to a law which allows absentee ballot voting for all voters in light of the coronavirus pandemic.

You can check your voting status on the Secretary of State's website, where you can also find your polling place.

There are several ways residents can vote:

Absentee Voting

The Secretary of the State office has mailed absentee ballot applications to all active registered voters in the state. Voters can also download the application online.

Those who want an absentee ballot will have to fill out the application and select a reason for requesting one. All voters are eligible to check the top box that lists "COVID-19" as a reason for requesting an absentee ballot.

Applications then need to be sent to the voter's local town clerk office. They can be dropped in the secure drop-off box in front of town hall, hand-delivered in person to the office or mailed in.
The applications will then be processed locally and will begin to be sent out Oct. 2.

Ballots must be completely filled out according to the accompanied instructions, including signing the inner envelope. Ballots can be hand-delivered to the town clerk office, placed in the drop-off box or mailed in. Ballots must be received by the close of polls in order to count.

Voting on Election Day

Polls in Connecticut are open 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day. You can use the Secretary of State’s website to find your polling place.

Regular voter registration must be received or postmarked by the 7th day before Election Day. Registration can be done in person with the local registrar of voters office by the 7th day before an election.

Connecticut also allows for Election Day registration at designated centers in each town. People must be registered by 8 p.m. in order to vote using Election Day registration.

The following are the key contested races that will be on the ballot for Berlin voters:

President/Vice President

Joe Biden/Kamala Harris (Democrat)

Donald Trump/Mike Pence (Republican) - Incumbent

Jo Jorgensen and Chip Cohen (Libertarian)

Howie Hawkins and Angela Walker (Green Party)

U.S. Congress

U.S. House District 1

John B. Larson (Democrat) - Incumbent

Mary Fay (Republican)

Thomas E. McCormick (Green Party)

Local State Senate Race

6th Senatorial District

Rick Lopes (Democrat)

Gennaro Bizzarro (Republican)

Local State Representative Races

83rd House District

Catherine Abercrombie (Democrat)

Lou Arata (Republican)

30th House District

Joann-Angelico Stetson (Democrat)

Donna Veach (Republican)

Registrar of Voters

Christy Miano (Republican)

Joan Veley (Democrat)

This article originally appeared on the Berlin Patch