Election Day: Polls open at 9 a.m. in Anderson, 8 a.m. in Roane

It's Election Day in Tennessee, and registered voters can cast their ballots in the state and federal Democratic and Republican primaries, as well as the local races in their county or city.

In Anderson County, the local contested races are for sheriff and the 16 seats on the Anderson County Commission.

Polls are open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. in Anderson County; 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in Roane County. Sample ballots can be viewed at acelect.com or roaneelections.com. The Anderson County Election Commission also paid to have the Anderson County ballot printed several times in The Oak Ridger.

A total of 5,386 residents voted early in Anderson County as of Saturday, the final day of the early voting period, according to the Election Commission's posts to Facebook and its website. That 5,386 included 3,663 who voted in the state and federal Republican Primary and 1,533 in the Democratic Primary. Those primary voters probably voted in the Anderson County General Election as well. However, 190 people only voted in the General Election.

Anderson County has 47,348 voters, according to the Election Commission website. Asked about the low turnout for early voting, Election Commission Administrator Mark Stephens said it's like that across the state. He attributed it to few contested races, here and across the state, as well as "voter fatigue."

Contested races

As stated above, the only contested races in the local election are the races for sheriff and the two seats for Anderson County for each of the eight districts.

Republican Russell Barker, the incumbent, is facing challenger Rusty Carr, an Independent who has worked for the Sheriff's Office and many of the local law enforcement agencies, for the job of sheriff.

In Oak Ridge, three candidates each are vying for Anderson County Commission in Districts 7 and 6, and four candidates in District 8. Voters in each district vote for two candidates.

In District 6, the candidates are Anthony Allen and Steve Mead, both Republicans, and Catherine Denenberg, an Independent. This is the first year that County Commission and Board of Education candidates have had to declare a party affiliation. Mead and Denenberg are the incumbents.

In District 7, all of the candidates are newcomers. District 7 candidates are Sabra Beauchamp and Steven Poppick, both listed as Republicans, and Steve Verran, a Democrat. Commissioners Jerry Creasey and Theresa Scott chose not to seek re-election.

In District 8, the candidates are Myra Mansfield and Jake Martin, both Republicans, and Bob Smallridge and Phil Yager, both independents. Smallridge and Yager are the incumbents.

Elsewhere in Anderson County, District 1 candidates for County Commission are Rodney M. Jennings and Tyler Mayes, both Republicans, and Tracy L. Wandell, an Independent. Wandell is the incumbent. Commissioner Chuck Fritts decided not to seek re-election.

In District 2, seeking the two Commission seats are Michael Y. Foster and Denise Palmer, both Republicans, and V.L. Stonecipher, an Independent. Commissioners Robert Jameson and Rick Meredith are not seeking re-election.

In District 3, candidates are Lindsay Smith and Shelly Vandagriff, Republicans, and Joshua Anderson, an Independent. Anderson is the only incumbent and currently serves as Commission chairman. Commissioner Denver Waddell is not seeking re-election.

In District 4, the candidates are Tim Isbel and Amy Jones, Republicans, and J. Shain Vowell, an Independent. Isbel and Vowell are the incumbents.

In District 5, the candidates are Robert McKamey and Jerry White, both Republicans and both incumbents.

Where do I vote?

As a reminder, you should vote at your normal voting-day precinct — not one of the early voting locations. Stephens said there are two relatively new voting locations, although they were used in the Anderson County primary elections in May, and an additional precinct. Oak Ridge Municipal Building (City Hall) and Claxton Community Center are no longer voting locations. Instead it's the Oak Ridge Senior Center and Edgemoor Baptist Church in Claxton. Also, he said, the Poarch Manor Event Center in the Brush Valley area is a new voting location.

Redistricting, changes

In the state Democratic and Republican primaries, some voters will be voting for candidates in a different Tennessee House of Representatives district than they have in the past. Stephens said redistricting because of the 2020 U.S. Census split the voters who vote at the Briceville, Glen Alpine, Rocky Top and Lake City Middle School precincts. The voters are split between voting for candidates in House Districts 33 and 41. District 33 is currently represented by state Rep. John Ragan, R-Oak Ridge, and Rep. John Mark Windle, D-Livingston, represents District 41.

In District 33, which includes Oak Ridge, Ragan is seeking the Republican nomination in the primary. He'll face the winner in the Democratic Primary. Candidates in the Democratic Primary are James "Mike" Brewer and Jim Dodson, who is an Oak Ridge City Council member.

For Tennessee House of Representatives, District 41, Ed Butler is running against Bradley Hayes and Michael C. Swisher in the Republican Primary. There is no Democratic candidate in that race.

Election results

Election results will be posted on the Anderson County and Roane County election commissions' websites on Thursday night as results come in.

The Oak Ridger will post election results from the contested Anderson County races at oakridger.com on Thursday night. Because of the newspaper's print deadline, the election stories will not appear until the Monday print edition.

Donna Smith can be contacted at (865) 220-5514 or by email at dsmith@oakridger.com. Follow her on Twitter @ridgernewsed.

This article originally appeared on Oakridger: Election Day: Polls open at 9 a.m. in Anderson, 8 a.m. in Roane