ELLE Editor-in-Chief Nina Garcia Will Judge This Year’s Fashion Trust Arabia Awards

Photo credit: Courtesy of Fashion Trust Arabia
Photo credit: Courtesy of Fashion Trust Arabia

"Hearst Magazines and Yahoo may earn commission or revenue on some items through the links below."

Yesterday, non-profit organization Fashion Trust Arabia announced its 2022 advisory board. Among the list of fashion insiders is none other than ELLE’s very own editor-in-chief, Nina Garcia, who has previously served on FTA’s board. The organization also shared news regarding its fourth awards ceremony, which will be held during the week of Oct. 24, 2022.

Fashion Trust Arabia was founded in 2018 with the philanthropic purpose of highlighting and cultivating designers throughout the Middle East and North Africa region. It does so in part through its annual competition and award ceremony.

Garcia and the entire advisory panel are tasked with picking designer finalists from the MENA region. The board will choose from thousands of applicants, narrowing it down to just 24. These designers will then present their fashions to the FTA jury as submissions for a 2022 award.

Applicants are required to either have MENA heritage or conduct business in the region. The categories include ready-to-wear, eveningwear, accessories, jewelry, and the Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award, which goes to a graduate designer.

Four winning designers will receive a monetary prize valued between $100,000 and $200,000 to expand their business. Winners are also awarded with a one-year partnership with UK-based global retailer matchesfashion.com, as well as a sustainability mentorship from Maison de Mode.

Each year, FTA selects one country to spotlight at the ceremony, and this year’s honoree is Turkey. The advisory board will therefore judge an additional pool of Turkish designers who specialize in women’s ready-to-wear and name a winner.

The advisory board consists of leaders in fashion, such as Garcia, who returns from the 2021 board along with Alexander Fury, Carmen Busquets, Elizabeth von der Goltz, Fabio Piras, Patti Wilson, Sarah Andelman, Sara Maino, Saif Mahdhi, and Sofia Guellaty.

“It’s always such an honor to have the support of some of the most renowned names from the industry,” said FTA co-founder Tania Fares in a press release. “We are grateful for their participation in shortlisting FTA’s Finalists, which really elevates the prize each year to new heights and helps put MENA designers on the global fashion map.”

New board members include Adam Baidawi, Bryan Grey Yambao, Edgardo Osorio, Erdem Moragliou, Gaia Repossi, Gabriella Karefa-Johnson, Imruh Asha, Mary Alice Malone, Olivier Theyskens, Pierre A. M'Pelé, Piergiorgio Del Moro, Tiffany Godoy, Wayman Bannerman, and Micah McDonald.

You Might Also Like