England wins toss, bowls in 2nd test vs. New Zealand

HAMILTON, New Zealand (AP) — England won the toss and elected to bowl Friday in the second cricket test against New Zealand at Seddon Park.

New Zealand leads the two-test series 1-0 after winning by an innings and 65 runs at Mount Maunganui.

Both teams have lost players to injury and have named players to make test debuts. England are without wicketkeeper Jos Buttler and have named Kent batsman Zak Crawley to play his first test while Ollie Pope will keep wicket.

The tourists took the bold step of entering the test without a specialist spinner, naming seamer Chris Woakes to replace left-armer Jack Leach.

New Zealand named allrounder Daryl Mitchell to make his test debut in place of Colin de Grandhomme, who has an abdominal muscle strain, and seamer Matt Henry in place of Trent Boult who has a rib injury.

Mitchell is the son of former All Blacks head coach and current England assistant rugby coach John Mitchell.


New Zealand: Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, B.J. Watling, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Matt Henry.

England: Dom Sibley, Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Sam Curran, Jofra Arthur, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka, and Paul Wilson, Australia.

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford, Australia. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports