2 / 29

Ethiopia’s Desisa, Kenya’s Keitany win 2018 NYC Marathon

A runner from Mexico waits at the start of the race near the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge before the New York City Marathon on Nov. 4, 2018. (Photo: Eduardo Munoz Alvarez/AP)

Ethiopia's Desisa, Kenya's Keitany win 2018 NYC Marathon

Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia has won the New York City Marathon, holding off his countryman Shura Kitata by 1.99 seconds. Desisa finished in 2:05:59. Last year’s winner, Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya, finished third.

Mary Keitany of Kenya became the second woman to win the marathon four times, beating countrywoman Vivian Cheruiyot by 3:13. Keitany ran the race in 2:22:48, the second-fastest in history. Margaret Okayo of Kenya holds the record of 2:22:31, which was set in 2003.

The victory was Keitany’s fourth in New York in the last five years. She won in 2014, 2015 and 2016 before coming in second to American Shalane Flanagan last year. Keitany joined Grete Waitz as the only women to win the marathon four times. Waitz, a Norwegian, won the marathon nine times between 1978-1988. Flanagan finished third. (AP)

Photos: Feeling the pain at the New York City Marathon »

See more news-related photo galleries and follow us on Yahoo News Photo Twitter and Tumblr.