Formula One announces 10-year deal for Miami Grand Prix at Hard Rock Stadium

·2 min read

It’s official: Formula One is coming to South Florida.

Formula 1 announced Sunday the Miami Grand Prix at Hard Rock Stadium will join the 2022 FIA Formula One World Championship in a 10-year deal, during a press conference in Imola, Italy.

The date for the 2022 race will be announced at a later date.

“The Hard Rock stadium entertainment campus in Miami Gardens exists to host the biggest global events to benefit the entire greater Miami region and Formula 1 racing is as big as it gets,” Miami Dolphins and Hard Rock Stadium CEO Tom Garfinkel said in a statement.

“We have worked with specialist designers to create a racetrack that we, Formula 1 and the FIA believe will provide great racing and we hope to create best-in-class unique fan experiences that are reflective of the diverse and dynamic nature of Miami.

“I want to thank Formula 1 and the Miami Gardens and Miami Dade County elected officials for working to bring this hugely impactful event here for years to come,” added Garfinkel, who is now managing partner of the Miami Grand Prix.

Sunday’s announcement ends a nearly three-year quest by Dolphins and Hard Rock Stadium owner Steve Ross to bring Formula One racing to South Florida. Ross also becomes the Chairman and Owner of the Formula 1 Miami Grand Prix.

Race organizers and city of Miami Gardens recently announced an economic package that will include a $5 million commitment, including a STEM education program and race conditions that must be abided by to benefit the area.

The race circuit will be 5.41 kilometers (3.36 miles), have 19 corners, 3 straights and potential for 3 DRS zones with an estimated top speed of 320km/h (198.8 mph) with the stadium at the heart of the action.

F1 and Hard Rock Stadium officials will work together to build a track to provide high speed straights, multiple overtaking opportunities and exciting racing while meeting the highest safety standards, according to a press release.

Miami will be the 11th location Formula 1 has raced in the United States since the Championship began in 1950. Since that time Formula 1 has raced at Riverside, Sebring, Watkins Glen, Long Beach, Las Vegas, Detroit, Dallas, Phoenix, Indianapolis and Circuit of the Americas in Austin.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting