Gamescom 2019's Opening Night Live to mark expo's start

Crowds at Gamescom 2018 in Cologne, Germany, the world's biggest video game expo

A Canadian TV presenter and producer long associated with video game shows and events -- GameTrailers, G4TV, Spike Video Game Awards and The Game Awards -- Geoff Keighley headed up new panel talk track E3 Coliseum at the 2019 Electronic Entertainment Expo and is now steering an Opening Night Live show for the world's biggest video games expo, Gamescom.

Gamescom Opening Night Live is to be held on August 19, with around 1,500 fans in the live audience, and broadcasting online from 8pm Central European Summer Time in Cologne, Germany, where the annual video games expo takes place.

Its official video and social media channels include twitch.tv/gamescom, youtube.com/mygamescom, twitter.com/gamescom, and facebook.com/gamescom.cologne.

For international viewers, that 8pm start time equates to 11am PDT, 2pm EDT, 6pm UTC, 7pm UK, and 11:30pm in India, then 2am on August 20 in Singapore, Malaysia, and Beijing, China, 3am in South Korea and Japan, and 4am for viewers in Sydney, Australia.

An overview of what's to come at Gamescom 2019, which takes place August 20 to 2014, its organizers anticipate announcements from major publishers and independent developers, world premiers, new footage, and games industry guests.

Xbox is actually holding its own August 19 livestream three hours before Opening Night Live.

The Microsoft division is bringing six Xbox Game Studios titles to the expo: "Gears 5" (part of the "Gears of War" franchise), "Minecraft Dungeons," "Battletoads," "Bleeding Edge," and then PC games "Halo: The Master Chief Collection" and "Age of Empires II."

It's reserving space for partner publishers' "Borderlands 3," "NBA 2K20," "Doom Eternal" and "Ghost Recon: Breakpoint" on the show floor.

Electronic Arts indicated that it would bring the next "Need for Speed" racing game to Gamescom during a July 31 earnings call.

It continues to support "Fortnite" challenger "Apex Legends," whose studio is simultaneously developing "Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order."

EA will be ramping up for the release of mammoth soccer game "FIFA 20" at the end of September; European fans will also be able to see Konami's "eFootball Pro Evolution Soccer 2020" (or, more simply, "PES 2020") at the show.

Accompanying Xbox to the expo are fellow manufacturers PlayStation and Nintendo.

Nintendo has its own schedule of pre-recorded videos planned for August 20-22, profiling six Switch games: "Luigi's Mansion 3," "The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening," "Astral Chain," "Dragon Quest XI S," "The Witcher III: Wild Hunt," and "Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020."

In addition, it is launching a new, more affordable Nintendo Switch Lite alongside "Link's Awakening" on September 20.

Among other publishers, THQ Nordic is showing action RPG "Biomutant," wild west tactics game "Desperados III," E3 2019 reveal "Darksiders Genesis," remakes of "Destroy All Humans" and "SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom," plus a mystery unannounced project.