Gmail freaks out users by saying a 'new device signed into' their account

Rachel Kraus
Twitter
Facebook

Don't freak out. 

On Monday afternoon, Gmail mistakenly sent multiple users a security alert, notifying them that an unknown device had signed into their account. 

The number of affected users is currently unknown. However, according to a G Suite admin who chose to remain anonymous, the issue was widespread enough for Google to issue a notification about it in its Admin Panel. As of this writing, and according to the admin, Google was investigating the matter and said it had identified a potential cause, though it did not specify further.

A "new device sign in" notification is a freaky message to get, because it means that someone else has already successfully signed in to your account. Gmail informed users to change their passwords "right away."  Read more...

More about Google, Gmail, Bugs, Tech, and Big Tech Companies