New Haven County Senate Election Results: Winners Declared

UPDATE: 2:30 a.m.: Incumbent Democratic state Sen. Mary Daugherty Abrams won re-election in the 13th District by defeating Republican challenger Len Suzio in a race that was largely decided by absentee ballots, according to the Meriden Record-Journal.

The 13th District represents parts of Cheshire, Meriden, Middlefield and Middletown.

Abrams won by a vote of 22,424 to 21,360, according to unofficial results from the Secretary of the State's office.

UPDATE: 1:30 a.m.: Just like two years ago, the race between Democratic challenger Jorge Cabrera and incumbent Republican George Logan was too close to call on Election Night.

“We are encouraged by the results so far this evening, and while we await the rest of the absentee ballots in the 17th State Senate District, we feel confident that the current results will hold once all votes are counted over the next few days," Cabrera's campaign said in a statement around 1 a.m.

UPDATE: 11:30 p.m.: The Connecticut Democratic Party declared victory for incumbents state Senators Gary Winfield (D-10) and Martin Looney (D-11). John Fonfara also won re-election in the 1st district, according to the party.

UPDATE: 11 p.m.: Republican Paul Cicarella has won the race to replace longtime state Senator Len Fasano in the 34th District, which represents East Haven, Wallingford and parts of Durham and North Haven.

Fasano, the Senate Republican leader, announced earlier this year that he would not seek re-election to a 10th term.

Cicarella defeated Democrat April Capone, a former East Haven mayor. Capone conceded the race late Tuesday night.

(Results for the state Senate races are still coming in, continue to refresh this article for the latest updates. To receive free, real-time local and state election updates and results from Patch click here.)

(Original post) CONNECTICUT — Polls are now closed in Connecticut for the 2020 presidential election and several important state races. Many voters have already cast absentee ballots due to the coronavirus pandemic and those are now being counted.

All eyes are on the White House race between President Donald Trump and former vice president Joe Biden. Neither Connecticut U.S. Senate seat is up for re-election in this cycle, but all five congressional seats are. All of Connecticut’s state Senate and House of Representative seats are up for election too.

Democrats hold majorities in both the state House and Senate. There are 22 Democratic legislators and 14 Republicans in the Senate and 91 Democrats to 60 Republicans in the House.

(The votes are currently being counted, continue to refresh this article for the latest updates. To receive free, real-time local and state election updates and results from Patch click here.)

Connecticut's politics in 2021 will already be different regardless of the election results. Three out of four of the General Assembly caucus leaders didn’t seek re-election this year. House Republican Leader Themis Klarides and Senate Republican Leader Len Fasano announced earlier this year they wouldn’t seek re-election.

House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz announced in 2018 that the two-year term would be his last. He won re-election by a narrow margin in 2018.

Republicans made some gains in both chambers in 2016 and had evenly split the Senate with Democrats. However, 2018’s election shifted 12 seats in the House and five in the Senate from red to blue.

Stay on top of all the returns from across Connecticut and our five congressional districts by checking these stories throughout the night.

Below are the Connecticut State Senate races in New Haven County:

Office: State Senator 10

Office: State Senator 11

  • Martin M. Looney, Democratic Party

  • Jameson White, Republican Party

  • Alexander Taubes, Petitioning Candidate

Office: State Senator 12

  • Christine Cohen, Democratic Party

  • Joe LaPorta, Republican Party

  • Christine Cohen, Independent Party

  • Christine Cohen, Working Families Party

Office: State Senator 13

  • Mary Daugherty Abrams, Democratic Party

  • Len Suzio, Republican Party

  • Len Suzio, Independent Party

  • Mary Daugherty Abrams, Working Families Party

Office: State Senator 14

  • James Maroney, Democratic Party

  • Michael Southworth, Republican Party

  • James Maroney, Independent Party

  • James Maroney, Working Families Party

Office: State Senator 15

  • Joan V. Hartley, Democratic Party

  • Joan V. Hartley, Independent Party

Office: State Senator 16

  • Jack Perry, Democratic Party

  • Rob Sampson, Republican Party

  • Jack Perry, Independent Party

  • Jack Perry, Working Families Party

Office: State Senator 17

  • Jorge Cabrera, Democratic Party

  • George Logan, Republican Party

  • George Logan, Independent Party

  • Jorge Cabrera, Working Families Party

Office: State Senator 32

  • Jeffrey Desmarais, Democratic Party

  • Eric C. Berthel, Republican Party

Office: State Senator 34

This article originally appeared on the New Haven Patch