HBO Announces Finalists For 2022 American Black Film Festival's Annual Short Film Award

HBO has announced the five finalists who will compete in American Black Film Festival's 25th
Annual HBO Short Film Award.

Formerly known as the HBO Short Film Competition, this year's prestigious event will celebrate
25 years of HBO’s commitment to recognizing the next generation of diverse, artistic,
and creative talent at ABFF.

This year’s five finalists are: Sherif Alabede (Another Country) Elisee Junior St Preux (Aurinko in Adagio) Gia-Rayne Harris (Pens & Pencils) Destiny J Macon (Talk Black) and Rebecca Usoro (The Family Meeting).

These independent Black filmmakers will showcase their prestigious work in Miami, Florida from June 15-19. The in-person festival will be followed by virtual events from June 20-30 on ABFF PLAY.

Prior winners of the ABFF's have gone on to become prominent filmmakers in Hollywood.

Over the American Black Film Festival’s 25-year history, several of its winners have become well-known filmmakers in the industry.

Prior winners include Ryan Coogler, Steven Caple Jr., Kiel Adrian Scott, Saladin K. Patterson and Ben Watkins.

The ABFF was created to 'uplift unique voices' and showcase 'talented Black storytellers'

“For 25 years, HBO has elevated ABFF’s commitment to providing access and opportunity for talented filmmakers in the industry,” said Dennis Williams, Senior Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility, Warner Bros. Discovery. “Our commitment to uplift unique voices that move the needle in culture is stronger than ever”

“The HBO Short Film Award continues to be the industry-leading platform to recognize and reward the most talented Black storytellers each year,” said Jeff Friday, Founder ABFF Ventures LLC and CEO Jeff Friday Media (JFM). “We are honored to have had the opportunity to partner with HBO for 25 years and look forward to expanding our work in support of content creators of color.”

HBO will announce the winner of the ABFF during the Best of the ABFF Awards Presentation on Saturday, June 18, 2022. The top filmmaker will take home the grand prize of $10,000. The other four finalists will receive $5,000 each.