Stein, Moulton re-elected to Watertown School Board; De Smet voters approve $9M school bond

Incumbents Jean Moulton and Stuart Stein were re-elected to the Watertown School Board Tuesday.

A total of 1,139 votes were cast for the two open three-year school board terms. Final vote totals follow:

*Stuart Stein: 702 (62%)

* Jean Moulton: 614 (54%)

Nancy Turbak Berry: 504 (44%)

Thomas Lenox: 284 (25%)

Stuart Stein
Stuart Stein

Stein, 39, has served on the Watertown School Board for the past seven years. He is a Watertown native and an owner of ESCO Manufacturing and Stein Sign Display.

“Thank you to all the people who took time to vote. I’m looking forward to the next three years and accomplishing great things for the Watertown School District and the community,” he said.

School safety, staff development and retention, and overseeing the completion of the district’s building projects are Stein’s priorities in the coming three years.

Jean Moulton
Jean Moulton

Moulton, 72, has served one term on the Watertown School Board. She has 43 years of experience as a teacher and spent 25 years teaching at Watertown High School.

"I'm so grateful to voters for their support," said Moulton. "I will continue to work hard for quality education that serves our children, the district staff and our community."

Addressing issues regarding the overcrowding of classrooms and re-establishing alternative education in the district are Moulton's priorities for the next few years.

De Smet voters approve $9 million bond for new elementary school

Voters in De Smet Tuesday easily approved a $9 million bond initiative to build a new Laura Ingalls Wilder Elementary School. The final vote totals follow.

*Yes: 378

No: 125

Voter turnout was 38.7%.

This article originally appeared on Watertown Public Opinion: Incumbents Stein and Moulton re-elected to Watertown School Board