IndyCar: "At least we saw the green flag": Alexander Rossi's bad luck continues, out of Texas race

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Andretti Autosport confirms Kyle Kirkwood for 2023 to replace outgoing Alexander Rossi

Alexander Rossi's issues at Texas Motor Speedway continued Sunday. Rossi, the 2016 Indianapolis 500 champion, was ruled to have jumped the start before an electrical problem ended his day shortly after.

"It was something electrical, so we were losing battery voltage from really the start of the race," Rossi told Kevin Lee on the NBC broadcast.

Rossi was penalized for passing before the start/finish line on the initial start of the race. IndyCar rules dictate drivers must stay in line and not pass before they have crossed the starting line.

IndyCar issued the penalty to Rossi shortly before his car began to slow due to the electrical problem.

"Well at least we saw the green flag, so that's cool," said Rossi to NBC. He claimed he was giving the positions back in an attempt to avoid a penalty.

"It's a shame because I think the car was fast. I think we had a really good idea of how we were gonna go forward in the race. To not get that opportunity is pretty sad."

This article originally appeared on Indianapolis Star: IndyCar: Alexander Rossi drops out of Texas race