Injured batsman Chris Lynn named in Australia's T20 squad

ADELAIDE, Australia (AP) — Batsman Chris Lynn has been named in Australia's Twenty20 squad for the series against Sri Lanka despite still recovering from a neck injury.

Cricket Australia said Wednesday that Lynn was included in the 13-man squad but will face further fitness tests ahead of the three-match series starting Feb. 17 in Melbourne.

With Australia's test side preparing for the series in India, veteran Michael Klinger, Billy Stanlake, Jyhe Richardson and Ashton Turner are in line for T20 international debuts after being named in a squad to be captained by Aaron Finch.

Wicketkeeper Tim Paine also returns to the international side as Australia looks to improve its current T20 world ranking of sixth.

"With a number of our frontline players preparing for the India test series, we have chosen a squad with a good blend of experience combined with several younger players in an effort to improve our performance," chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said in a statement on Wednesday.

After the Melbourne match, the teams will play on Feb. 19 in Geelong and in Adelaide on Feb. 22.


Australia squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Klinger, Chris Lynn, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.