Judges appointed, nominated for new 28th Judicial District positions in Saline County

·2 min read
Judge’s gavel. [File]
Judge’s gavel. [File]

After the creation of new judicial positions earlier this year, one judge has been appointed and four have been nominated to fill open seats in Saline and Ottawa Counties.

An administrative order by the Kansas Supreme Court in April created three new judicial positions for the 28th Judicial District, encompassing Saline and Ottawa counties, with a new magistrate judge position and two new district judge positions created.

More: Clydesdales, bull riders, broncos and Texas longhorns are at the Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo

District Magistrate Judge appointed

Claire Serrault-Wiseman was selected by the 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission last week to fill a district magistrate judge position in Saline County.

Serrault-Wiseman, was serving as a court services officer for the district at the time of her appointment. As a magistrate judge, she will serve for one year in office before standing for a retention vote in the next general election. If she is retained, she will serve a four-year term.

More: Gov. Kelly appoints Jacob Peterson as district court judge

Four nominees for two district judge seats

The nominating commission also selected four people to fill the created seats for the 28th District Court, of which two will be appointed by Gov. Laura Kelly.

The four nominees are Samantha Angell, chamber counsel for the U.S. Court for the District of Kansas, who is from Salina; Brad Sutton, an assistant county attorney for Saline County from Assaria; Andrea Swisher, a private practice attorney in Lindsborg and Amy Taylor-Norton, an assistant attorney general for the State of Kansas, also from Salina.

More: Saline County's county commissioner defeated in primary, new state board of ed rep as well

Kelly has 60 days to appoint the two positions, and after appointment, they will serve one year in office before standing for a retention vote in the next general election. If retained, the judges will serve a four-year term.

This article originally appeared on Salina Journal: New judge positions in Saline, Ottawa Counties to be filled