House Speaker Election Coverage: House adjourns after McCarthy suffers defeat on third ballot

Opposition to Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) grew in the third vote for Speaker.

McCarthy failed to secure the Speaker’s gavel on the third vote, with the final tally showing him garnering 202 votes.

Twenty Republicans voted against him, an increase from the 19 GOP opponents on the first two ballots.

All 20 voted for Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), who himself voted for McCarthy.

For the third time, Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.) garnered all Democratic votes.

The House hasn’t needed more than one ballot to pick a Speaker in a century — 218 votes are required.

Now it is poised for a fourth vote as the House is adjourned until Wednesday.

Stay with The Hill for live updates throughout the day below:

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to The Hill.