Local elections, propositions on Tuesday's ballot

Nov. 3—Voters across the area will go to the polls Tuesday, Nov. 7, to elect state Supreme Court justices and a variety of local officials. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Voters in Otsego, Delaware and Chenango counties will choose from two candidates for one state Supreme Court judgeship in the Sixth Judicial District, while Schoharie County voters will choose from four candidates for three spots in the Third Judicial District.

Competing in the Sixth Judicial District are Deirdre Hay, of Ithaca, on the Democratic line and Cheryl Insinga, of Johnson City, on the Republican line.

Competing in the Third Judicial District are: Albany County Family Court Judge and acting supreme court justice Sherri J. Brooks-Morton of Albany, on the Democratic and Working Families Party lines; Albany County Family Court Judge and Acting State Supreme Court Judge Richard Rivera of Albany, D, WFP; Daniel C. Lynch of Glenmont, Albany County deputy executive, D, WFP; and Dana L. Salazar of Nassau, managing partner of Salazar and Erikson, on the Republican and Conservative lines.

Voters in Otsego and Chenango counties will elect district attorneys. John Muehl, a Republican, is running unopposed in Otsego County, while Michael Ferrerase, also a Republican, is running without opposition in Chenango County.

Voters in Otsego County will also elect a county clerk, two coroners and board of representatives. Jennifer Basile, who is on the Republican and Conservative lines, and MacGuire Benton, who is on the Democratic and Independent-Independent Body lines, are running for county clerk. Edward Stanimer and Michael Fox Jr. are running unopposed on the Republican and Conservative lines for county coroners. There is only one contested board of representative race for District 11, which covers the First and Second wards of Oneonta. Nora Mendez is on the Democratic line and Paul Ahearn is on the Republican line. The other representatives are running unopposed: District 1 Edwin Frazier; District 2 Jerry Madsen; District 3 Richard Brockway; District 4 Michelle Catan; District 5 Margaret Kennedy; District 6 Jennifer Mickle; District 7 David Bliss; District 8 Andrew Marietta; District 9 Keith McCarty; District 10 Daniel Wilber; District 12 Adrienne Martini; District 13 Donald Scanlon; and District 14 Jill Basile.

Schoharie County voters will elect a treasurer, a county clerk and two coroners. Mary Ann Wollaber-Bryan, on the Republican and Conservative lines, is running for treasurer. Lawrence J. Caza, on the Republican and Conservative lines, is running for county clerk. Matthew E. Coltrain and Wells M. Farr, both Republicans, are running for the two coroner positions.

There are no county-wide races in Delaware County.

There are two statewide propositions that will amend the state constitution if approved. The first proposition will allow the 57 small city school districts, including Norwich and Oneonta, to accrue 10% debt instead of 5%. The second proposition will allow cities, towns and villages to extend sewage treatment project debt for another 10 years. Some area towns also have propositions. Lincklaen, Masonville and Meredith are asking residents if they would like to have an appointed highway superintendent instead of an elected one. McDonough is asking residents if they want the town to bond $2 million for the Pike Road repair project. New Berlin is asking residents whether it can operate bingo games within the town. Gilboa is asking residents if it can sell the old town hall to the local historical association for $1.

There are several contested town races on Tuesday's ballot for town supervisor, town clerk, town council and highway superintendent. A complete list of candidates can be found on our website.

Vicky Klukkert, staff writer, can be reached at vklukkert@thedailystar.com or 607-441-7221.