LSU Football Players and Coaches Rush Field to Celebrate Championship Win

The Louisiana State University Tigers defeated the Clemson Tigers to win the College Football Playoff National Championship in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Monday, January 13.

LSU beat Clemson 42-25 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, claiming their fourth National Championship title.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow, the 2019 Heisman Trophy winner, threw five touchdown passes on Monday, bringing his season total to 60 and breaking the all-time single-season touchdown pass record. The previous record holder was Colt Brennan, with 58 in the 2006 season.

The win caps off a perfect season for LSU, who did not lose a single game. Clemson also did not lose, until the championship game.

Video filmed by Michael Johnson, LSU Athletics’ Executive Chef, shows players and coaches celebrating the win on the field. Credit: Michael Johnson via Storyful