Mantz, Kelati win 2022 Manchester Road Race title

Nov. 24—Conner Mantz and Weini Kelati were the men's and women's race winners at the 86th edition of the Manchester Road Race Thursday morning.

Mantz finished in a course record time of 21:04. The previous record was 21:16 set by Edward Cheserek in 2019.

Morgan Beadlescomb (21:05) was second while Wesley Kiptoo (21:06) was third. Andrew Colley (21:07) placed fourth while Hillary Bor (21:15) completed the top five.

Kelati, last year's champion and current course record holder, won the women's race for the second straight year. She finished in23:39.

Jessa Hanson was second at 24:21 while Taylor Werner (24:27) was third. Anna Dibaba (24:29) and Calli Thackery (24:37) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Kiptoo and Kelati were the King and Queen of the Hill — the first runners to ascend the hill on Highland Street. Kiptoo reached the mark in 9:00 while Kelati did so in 9:56.

For coverage of UConn football and men's basketball as well as area high school and local youth sports, follow Adam Betz on Twitter: @AdBetz1, Facebook: Adam Betz — Sports Writer, and Instagram: @AdBetzJI.